Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set contains House and Senate Documents and House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). The Serial Set does not include Congressional hearings and debates.
House and Senate Reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. House and Senate Documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, Executive branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.
Documents before 1817 are found in the American State Papers. After 1994, Government Printing Office (GPO) and the Library of Congress THOMAS provide digital access to most of the continuing Serial Set materials.
This database provides a standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Footnotes and explanatory information provide instructional information about the data and sources of the data.
Users can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting particular areas of interest.
This is a fulltext, full image database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1959 to 1971. The files include published material such as newspaper clippings, transcripts of meetings, internal bureau memoranda, and reports of special agents, which frequently refer to information provided by confidential informants. A significant portion of the collection highlights COINTELPRO, the bureau's extensive "counterintelligence" program against dissent in the 1960s. Subjects of the investigations include Abbie Hoffman, Malcolm X, Cesar Chavez, Students for a Democratic Society, the Black Panther Party, and a number of white supremacist groups.
This database contains legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the period from 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
This historical collection allows researchers to search books, pamphlets, newspapers, and government documents printed in America over three centuries. The collection is composed of the following components: America’s Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, Early American Imprints, and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.