Skip to main content

Veterans & Military Resources

Health Care - Department of Veterans Affairs

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) provides Health Care Information on numerous health and medical issues of concern to veterans, their families, and survivors.

Featured Resources:

Mental Health Services - Department of Veterans Affairs

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) also provides Mental Health Services to maintain and improve the health and well-being of Veterans through excellence in health care, social services, education, and research.  The following resources provide links to VA programs and services, articles and fact sheets, and additional related resources. 

Highlighted Resources:

Public Health - Department of Veterans Affairs

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) also provides the Office of Public Health to bring a public health approach to protecting the health of Veterans and staff.  The following resources provide links articles and fact sheets, publications and reports, research studies and related illnesses, and additional related benefit resources.   

Highlighted Resources:

Additional Health/Medical Research, Reports & Services

The Amputee Coalition is the nation’s leading organization on limb loss, dedicated to enhancing the quality of life for amputees and their families, improving patient care and preventing limb loss.

The Health Services Research & Development Service (HSR&D) pursues research that underscores all aspects of VA healthcare, including critical issues for Veterans returning home from Iraq and Afghanistan with conditions that may require care over their lifetimes.

The Institue of Medicine provides several reports related to Veterans Health which consider the unique experiences of current and former servicemen and women.

Additional Health Reports

The National Alliance of Mental Illness (NAMI) provides valuable resources on manny issues pertaining to Veterans, current servicemembers and their families.

Highlighted Resources:

The National Center for PTSD (Posttraumatic Stress Disorder) is the world's leading research, education, and training center in the science, diagnosis, and treatment of PTSD and stress-related disorders.

The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke provides detailed information regarding traumatic brain injury.  More detailed information can be retrieved from the following report:

The National Spinal Cord Injury Association (NSCIA) provides a number of resources related to Veterans with spinal cord injury or related disabilites.

Loading

Defense Centers for Excellence

The Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE) is comprised of three centers: Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center, Deployment Health Clinical Center and National Center for Telehealth and Technology.  These centers seek to improve the lives of our nation’s service members, families and veterans by advancing excellence in psychological health and traumatic brain injury prevention and care.

War Related Illness & Injury Study Center (WRIISC)

The War Related Illness & Injury Study Center (WRIISC) is has as its focus the post deployment health concerns of Veterans and their unique health care needs. WRIISC develops and provides post-deployment health expertise to Veterans and their health care providers through clinical programs, research, education, and risk communication.

Highlighted Features:

Close This