Skip to main content

Career and Job Research: Researching Industries

The guides is designed to assist users in the career planning and job search process.

UD Career Services

UD Career Services Center
     Career Services Center
     University of Delaware
     401 Academy Street
     Newark, DE 19716
     Phone: (302) 831-2392
​     Fax: (302) 831-1452
     Program Contact Numbers
     E-mail: udcareers@udel.edu

Lerner Satellite Career Services 
     103, Alfred Lerner Hall
     Newark, DE 19716
     Phone: 302-831-4369
     Fax: 302-831-0708

Ask the Library

For help on finding career information, Ask the Library.

Employers and Industry Research

Researching Industries using DELCAT Discovery

Appropriate subject headings or keywords can be entered in DELCAT Discovery to find industry information in the library collection, example:

Pharmaceutical industry
Performing a subject search using su:Pharmaceutical industry provides a list of available resources on the industry.

Industries - US
Performing a subject search using su:Industries-US retrieves available resources on all U.S. industries.

Vault Career Guides
Performing a keyword search using kw:Vault Career Guide links to books in the Vault series about specific industries. 

 

 

 

Databases for Researching Industries

UD Library subscribes to a variety of databases and research tools that are helpful for researching industry and company specific information. Access is available to all users while inside the Library. UdelNet ID and Password is need to access databases from off campus locations.

LexisNexis Academic
Contains Hoover's Company Profiles and company dossiers with officer lists and extensive company information.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Provides access to U.S. Industries data and company profiles. It has detailed strategic and financial information on publicly held U.S. corporations. Includes company records for parent companies plus subsidiaries, divisions, and affiliates. The company Profiles also include contact information.

Mergent Online
Mergent online is a comprehensive and authoritative suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. It includes: 1. Approximately 15,000 U.S. public company data and their EDGAR filings dating back to 1993. Coverage includes company history, business, property, subsidiaries, officers, directors, financial information and more.  2. D&B Million Dollar Database which provides information on approximately 1,600,000 U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses.

ReferenceUSA
Consists of U.S. Business Database—information on 14 million businesses in the United States and U.S. Consumer/Lifestyle Database—information on 262 million residents in the United States.
Output Formats: Data may be downloaded in comma-delimited, fixed-length, or tab-delimited format for importing into spreadsheet, database, and/or word processing programs. The number of records that can be downloaded at one time is 250 records in the Library and 100 records if accessing remotely.

Recommended Books

These books provide a holistic view of the job searching process.
 

Close This