Skip to main content

World War I Resources: Manuscripts & Archives

Guide offering primary resources in Special Collections and on the web relating to World War I

Shipley-Bringhurst-Hargraves family papers

Studio portrait of Nancy Bringhurst Sellers in WWI uniform, 1918

Locating manuscript collections

Users can locate manuscript collections by searching within the library's online catalog, DELCAT Discovery, or browsing the list of finding aids on the Special Collections website.

To search within DELCAT Discovery, enter a collection name, keywords, and/or subject headings into the search box and limit your search to Special Collections items only.

Tips and Tricks: Users can search for individuals or creators by using keywords or authorized names and/or subject terms. Authorized names and subject terms can be found by searching through the Library of Congress Authorities website. Click here for a list of suggested subject terms.

Mark Samuels Lasner collection

The Mark Samuels Lasner Collection  focuses on British literature and art of the period 1850 to 1900, with an emphasis on the Pre-Raphaelites and on the writers and illustrators of the 1890s. Its holdings comprise 7,000 first and other editions (including many signed and association copies), manuscripts, letters, works on paper, and ephemera.

Please note that materials in the Mark Samuels Lasner Collection are not listed in DELCAT.

University Archives

Official records of the University of Delaware reside with the University Archives, which is charged with documenting the history of the institution.

Located at 002 Pearson Hall, the University Archives is open to the public. For additional information please contact the Archives at (302) 831-2750 or visit their website.

Close This