Skip to main content

BUAD 444: Industry Research: Company & Industry Data

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

RefWorks

Use RefWorks to save citations and create a bibliography and footnotes in seconds!

Log on to RefWorks

Industry Classification Codes

NAICS Logo

1. The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 

    The print edition is at the Library, Call Number (REF HF1042 .A55)

 

 

 

2.  Standard Industrial Classification (SIC), replaced by NAICS but may still be useful.  It provides four-digit numerical codes for identifying industries, businesses, and products.  The SIC manual was last revised in 1987. The print edition is at the Library, Call Number (REF HF1042 .A55).

Databases for Industry and Company Reports and Overviews

Company information and industry reports (based on NAICS or SIC) are available from the following databases:

  1. Business Insights: Essential (Company & Industry analysis, news and reports) 
  2. EDGAR Database of Corporate Information  (Annual reports;10K Reports, etc)
  3. Euromonitor Passport (Industry, markets and product data and information)
  4. Mergent Online (Company, Industry& Market data/Information)
  5. Net Advantage (includes the Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys)
  6. Encyclopedias of American Industries Print Edition: HC102 .E53 2008
  7. LexisNexis Academic (Industry & Market News, Company, Corporate Reports, etc)
  8. The Value Line Research Center (Company and Industry Analysis and Data)

Information on Competitors

Major Competitors Information

Recommended Databases:
1. Reference USA - ( Select U.S. Business Section)
2. Business Insights: Essential
3. Hoovers Report (included in LexisNexis Academic - Company profile area)

For competitor research (competitive intelligence) --- knowing what the competition is doing right (and wrong); what products they have; what they charge for their products or services; Strategies and plans for the future, etc.  Use the following databases- 1. ABI/Inform; 2. Business Source Premier. Also, you can find SWOT Analysis in both databases.

Selected Industry Surveys and Reports from Government Agencies

A number of Government Agencies provide statistical data on US Industries and sub-sectors.

  1. The U.S. Census Bureau
  2. Business & Industry
  3. Current Industrial Reports (CIR)

The Federal Reserve Banks conduct periodic regional surveys of the manufacturing industries. Examples:

  1. From Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia - Business Outlook Survey
  2. From Federal Reserve Bank of New York - Empire State Manufacturing Survey
  3. From Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas - Survey of Tenth District Manufacturers
  4. From Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond - Surveys of Business Conditions

Subject Guide

Pauly Iheanacho, Ed.D.'s picture
Pauly Iheanacho, Ed.D.
Contact:
Librarian
(302) 831-6946

Ask the Library

Close This