Skip to main content

Asian Studies: Articles

A-Z List of Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z ALL

Electronic Journals

Search DELCAT Discovery

Search Libraries worldwide, including DELCAT, for books, articles, DVDs and more

Advanced Search

Search Google Scholar

Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.

East Asian Gateway Service

The East Asian Gateway Service (EAGS), which was established with funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Service, is a transcontinental interlibrary loan partnership.

The EAGS, administered by the East Asian Library at the University of Pittsburg, focuses on free delivery of full-text Chinese and Korean language academic publications to researchers. The EAGS delivers Chinese documents to any individual researcher for research and teaching purposes or non-profit organizations who cannot find the needed item in any U.S. libraries. However, the service for Korean documents offers delivery to the University of Pittsburgh faculty and students only.

Using Get It!

Sometimes databases will contain links to electronic copies of full articles.  These are known as "full text" articles.  The library has created a system to help researchers connect to full text articles when searching online.  This system is called Get It!

Get It! searches though the library's many database and journal subscriptions to connect researchers to the full text of the desired article. When searching in a database that is Get It! -enabled, you will see a small link or button labeled Get It! beneath the article records that are returned by the database.  Clicking Get It! will bring you a screen with the following options:

Clicking on the source beneath "Link(s) to This Article" will bring you directly to the article within another resource such as a database or eJournal.  Look for the PDF of the article once directed to the appropriate source.

Clicking on "Link(s) to This Journal" will bring you to the home page of the electronic journal that contains the article that you seek.  Once there, you will either be able to search for your article by its title, or look it up by using the volume number, issue number, and year that the article was published.

If there is only one link to DELCAT, the library probably does not have this journal electronically, but may have it in print.  Look in DELCAT to see if the library has the year of the journal that contains your article.  You will need to record the call number in order to then find this journal in the library.

Finally, if Get It! provides you with no links to other sources, this may indicate that the library does not subscribe to the journal that published the article you are seeking.  In this case, there is still the option to select "Interlibrary Loan" to request that the article be delivered to you from another library.

 

 

Finding Articles in Databases

Library databases can help you to find articles published in scholarly sources. In many instances, you can access the full text of the article right from the database. There are subject-specific databases as well as broad interdisciplinary databases that you can search through. Because Asian Studies is so interdisciplinary, the following is just a sampling of the databases that may be helpful when starting your research. 

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

It is important to distinguish between journal and magazine articles when conducting your research. Journal articles are typically considered to be "scholarly," while magazine articles are usually considered to be "popular".

  Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines

Goal

Scholarly communication

To inform or entertain 

Audience Scholars, researchers, and students General public
Author Scholar or specialist with subject expertise Frequently a journalist paid to write articles; may or may not have subject expertise
Content In-depth account of original findings written by the researcher(s); very specific information
Discussion of someone else's research; may include narrative or opinion; general information.
Language Specialized terminology; requires subject knowledge General vocabulary; understandable to a general audience
References All quotes and sources are cited Little information about sources is included

Multidisciplinary Databases

These multidisciplinary databases are great places for getting started with your research.

Business and Political Science Databases

Social Science and Humanities Databases

Subject Guide

Carol Rudisell's picture
Carol Rudisell
Contact:
Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6942

Subjects:African American Studies, Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Sexuality Studies, Women and Gender Studies
Close This