Skip to main content

Islamic Studies: Articles

A-Z List of Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z ALL

Electronic Journals

Search DELCAT Discovery

Search Libraries worldwide, including DELCAT, for books, articles, DVDs and more

Advanced Search

Search Google Scholar

Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.

Finding Articles in Databases

Library databases can help you to find articles published in electronic journals and other scholarly sources. In many instances, you can access the full text of the article right from the database. There are subject-specific databases as well as broad interdisciplinary databases that you can search through. Because Islamic Studies is so interdisciplinary, the following is just a sampling of the databases that may be helpful when starting your research. 

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

It is important to distinguish between journal and magazine articles when conducting your research. Journal articles are typically considered to be "scholarly," while magazine articles are usually considered to be "popular".

  Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines

Goal

Scholarly communication

To inform or entertain 

Audience Scholars, researchers, and students General public
Author Scholar or specialist with subject expertise Frequently a journalist paid to write articles; may or may not have subject expertise
Content In-depth account of original findings written by the researcher(s); very specific information
Discussion of someone else's research; may include narrative or opinion; general information.
Language Specialized terminology; requires subject knowledge General vocabulary; understandable to a general audience
References All quotes and sources are cited Little information about sources is included

Multidisciplinary Databases

These multidisciplinary databases are great places for getting started with your research.

Business and Political Science Databases

Social Science and Humanities Databases

Subject Guide

Carol Rudisell's picture
Carol Rudisell
Contact:
Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6942

Subjects:African American Studies, Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Sexuality Studies, Women and Gender Studies
Close This