Skip to main content

Biographical Information: Contemporary

Biographical Sources for Living Persons

The sources listed on this page provide biographical information about living persons.

For some of the serial publications that follow (i.e., titles that are published yearly or at some other regular interval), the Library may have an extensive backfile. Therefore, those titles may be regarded as retrospective sources as well. In general, the current edition is shelved in the Reference Room, and the older editions are shelved in the Stacks.

Living Persons Worldwide

  • Current Biography. New York: H. W. Wilson.
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref CT100 .C8)

    “Articles on people who are prominent in the news—in national and international affairs, the sciences, the arts, sports, business, and industry. ... At the end of the year the articles in the monthly issues are cumulated in one alphabet, revised, and printed in a single volume known as Current Biography Yearbook.

  • Current Biography Yearbook. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1955-
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref CT100 .C8)

  • International Who’s Who. London: Europa Publications.
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref CT120 .I5)

Living Persons in a Particular Country or Region

Biographical Information (part of the People search in the Subject Areas section of LexisNexis Academic) (UD Access Only)

After connecting to the LexisNexis Academic database, click on “Subject Areas,” then “People.” The strong emphasis is on living Americans.

Who's Who. London: A. & C. Black.
Reference DA28 .W6 (Latest edition: earlier eds. in Stacks)

Who's Who in America. Chicago: Marquis Who's Who <etc.>
Reference E663 .W56 (Latest edition: earlier editions in Stacks)

Living Persons of a Particular Gender, Profession, Occupation, or Area of Achievement

Politics and Government

  • The Almanac of American Politics. Washington, D. C.: Barone & Co., 1972-
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref JK1010 .A66)

  • Official Congressional Directory. Washington, D. C.: G. P. O.
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref JK1011 .A1) Latest edition; earlier editions in Gov. Docs. (Y4 .P93/1)

Scientists

  • American Men and Women of Science. 19th ed., 8 vols. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1995.
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref Q141 .A1A47 19th) Earlier editions in Stacks

    “A biographical directory of today’s leaders in physical, biological, and related sciences.” Began publication in 1906 (under the title American Men of Science) and now lists about 150,000 persons in one alphabetical sequence.

University Graduates

  • Directory of American Scholars. 8th ed., 4 vols. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1982.
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref LA2311 .D56 8th) Earlier editions in Stacks

    Its four volumes are organized by subject: Volume 1, History; Volume 2, English, Speech, and Drama; Volume 3, Foreign Languages, Linguistics, and Philology; Volume 4, Philosophy, Religion, and Law.

Women

  • Who's Who of American Women. Chicago: Marquis Who's Who.
    Morris Library - Reference (Ref CT 3260 .W5 )

    Includes biographical sketches of contemporary American women.

Other

  • Contemporary Authors: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Current Authors and Their Works. 147 vols. to date. Detroit: Gale, 1962-
    LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref Z1224 .C6)

    The entire set, in addition to the title above, includes Contemporary Authors: 1st Revision Series, Contemporary Authors: New Revision Series, and Contemporary Authors: Permanent Series. The scope of Contemporary Authors is anyone who has published a book in North America.

  • Kürschners Deutscher Gelehrten-Kalendar: Bio-Bibliographsiches Verzeichnis Deutschsprachiger Wissenschaftler der Gegenwart. Berlin, New York: Walter de Gruyter, 1925-
    LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref Z2230 .A1K84)

Subject Guide

Carol Rudisell
Contact:
Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6942

Subjects:African American Studies, Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Sexuality Studies, Women and Gender Studies

Ask the Library

Close This