Bioinformatics: Web Databanks

Analyze data using NCBI software

From the annual database issue of this important journal, updated each January. A very useful collection of links to a comprehensive list of over 300 resources.

From the Univ. of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library, an annotated compilation of about 2820 bioinformatics databases and software tools.

Includes nucleotide databases, protein databases, chromosome maps, enzyme databases, etc.From the Computational Molecular Biology at NIH Web site.

The Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes is “a knowledge base for systematic analysis of gene functions in terms of networks of genes and molecules.” Integrates information from pathway databases such as WIT, sequence and structure databases, and sources such as PROSITE.

From the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, the major proteomics server dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and stuctures. Allows searching of multiple protein sequence databases and tools sites.

Drosophila genome database with tools for genetic maps and sequences, as well as sources for stocks and images.

The Mouse Genome Informatics Database provides integrated access to data on the genetics, genomics and biology of the laboratory mouse. This site also provides, under “Useful Links,” access to the Whole Mouse Catalog and other Database and Search Tools.

“Provides a comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes.

Human Genome Sequencing, Dictyostelium sequencing, Drosophila sequencing, Mouse chromosome Y, cDNA sequencing. Includes the Cancer Genome Project.

Part of the Division of Computational Bioscience (DCB/CIT) of the National Institutes of Health. Research involves the development and application of theoretical and computational methodologies.

“The single international repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D macromolecular structure data primarily determined experimentally by X-ray crystallography and NMR.” The PDB includes 10132 coordinate entries, 9422 proteins, 698 nucleic acids, and12 carbohydrates.

From the Protein Information Resource, a database that integrates structure and function databases to make associations between genomes, proteins, and protein functions.