Skip to main content

Chemistry and Biochemistry: Databases for Articles and Properties

Search Google Scholar

Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.

RefWorks

 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Interlibrary Loan

Books and other materials not held by the UD Library may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is available to UD faculty, students, and staff.

Requests may be submitted by going to Interlibrary Loan

How to Find Journal Articles

Step One:  Choose a Database

Databases serve as indexes to magazines and journals.  Some databases such as Academic OneFile and Web of Science cover general and multidisciplinary topics; others such as SciFinder and PubMed are specialized and cover one subject area in great depth.  This page list databases most useful for chemists and biochemists.

If you already know the name of the database you would like to search, you can get to the database directly by searching for the database by name on the Library databases page.

Step Two:  Search for Articles within the Database

Identify important search terms and concepts. Make a list of key search terms that relate to your topic. PubMed has a thesaurus within the database which will help you identify related and synonymous terms.

Enter search terms and combine them for more effective searching. While databases vary, most of them allow you to use Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to combine terms.  Examples:

(van der waals) AND (critical point shift ) 
(polymer morphology) AND (environmental stress)
(Delaware OR Chesapeake) AND (bays OR marshes)

Databases for Chemists

Ask the Library