This is an important database for research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage is international. The MLAIB connects with the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Book reviews are not indexed. 1926 to present.
LLBA covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. 1973-
AHCI is a Web of Science database that indexes arts and humanities journal articles and book reviews. Choose either General Search or Cited Ref Search, AHCI and the year(s) of publication. Advanced Search is also available.
This database includes the full text of the Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) series from Gale. There are selections from Contemporary Literary Criticism and more than thirty other literary reference sets, including Poetry Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literature. Criticism, Novels for Students, and Literature and Its Times.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary citation and abstracting database covering peer-reviewed journals from international publishers. While references go back to 1996, there are millions of pre-1996 records that go back as far as 1823.
Selected Databases for Full-Text Works of Literature
The main ARTFL database (FRANTEXT, formerly Trésor de la Langue Française) is a corpus consisting of nearly 2000 texts in French, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The ARTFL French Women Writers Project is a searchable database containing works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century.
The University of Delaware Library's subscription provides access to English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama (including Shakespeare) from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900.