Skip to main content

Delaware Newspapers: Delaware Newspaper Project (1983-1996)

Legacy of the Delaware Newspaper Project

The result of the Delaware Newspaper Project is that future generations of researchers will have access to these newspapers and will be able to examine the unique historical perspective that newspapers give about their communities. Microfilm allows for long-term preservation long after the original newsprint has disintegrated.

Teresa Morris, Pauline A. Young Resident, member of the Delaware Newspaper Project team, 1998/1999-1999/2000. Teresa was the original creator of this page.

Contributing Institutions

These are the symbols for the contributing institutions. Contact information is included for historical purposes.

BPL

Bridgeville Public Library
210 Market Street
Bridgeville, DE, 19933
Phone: 302-337-7401
Fax: 302-337-3270

Carol Gasior, Director.


KETA

The Delaware Agricultural Museum and Village
866 N Dupont Hwy
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302-734-1618
Fax: 302-734-0457


HTS

Delaware Historical Society
505 Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 302-655-7161

Dr. Barbara Benson, Director.

The Delaware Historical Society also houses a service copy of all the newspapers microfilmed under the Delaware Newspaper Project.


DBA

Delaware Public Archives
Hall of Records
121 Duke of York Street
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302-739-5318
Fax: 302-739-2578

Joanne Mattern.

The Delaware Public Archives also houses a service copy of all the newspapers filmed under the Delaware Newspaper Project.


DOV

Dover Post
609 E Division St
Dover, DE 19901
Phone 302-678-3616


DEH

Hagley Museum and Library
P.O. Box 3630
Wilmington, DE 19807-0630
Phone: 302-658-2400

Susan Hengel, Head, Imprints Department, Hagley Library.


HARR

Harrington Journal
110 E. Center St.
Harrington, DE 19952
Phone: 302-398-3206


SUXA

The Laurel Public Library
101 East Fourth Street
Laurel, DE, 19956
Phone: 302-875-3184
Fax: 302-875-4519

Mary Huebner, Director.


CTZA

Middletown Transcript
24 West Main Street
Middletown, DE 19709
Phone: 302-378-9531

Editor, Middletown Transcript.


MHS

Milton Historical Society
404 Chesnut St.
Milton, DE, 19968
Phone: 302-684-8851

William Wagman, Jr. President.


NTP

New Castle Public Library
424 Delaware St.
New Castle, DE, 19720
Phone: 302-328-1995
Fax: 302-328-4412

Sally Hatton, Head of Reference.


NHS

Newark Historical Society
Box 711
Newark, DE, 19711
Phone: 302-731-0955

Robert Thomas, President.


KETB

The Smyrna-Clayton Sun Times
25 W Commerce St
Smyrna, DE 19977
Phone: 302-653-2083


TOWN

Thomas E. Townsend
24 Southern Blvd
Camden-Wyoming, DE 19934


DLM

University of Delaware Library
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19717-5267
Phone: 302-831-2231
Fax: 302-831-1046

Inquiries concerning permission to purchase microfilm copies of newspapers contributed by the University of Delaware to the Delaware Newspaper Project should be directed to Dina Giambi, Associate University Librarian for Technical Services and Resource Management.

The University of Delaware Library also houses a service copy of all the newspapers microfilmed under the Delaware Newspaper Project.


DWW

Wilmington Institute Free Library (Wilmington Public Library)
10th & Market Sts.
Wilmington, DE, 19801
Phone: 302-571-7400
Fax: 302-654-9132

Ben Prestianni, Head of Reference.

Availability of Microfilmed Newspapers

Copies of microfilm produced for the Delaware Newspaper Project (DNP) can be obtained in various ways.

  • At the institutions which have service copies.
    Service copies consist of all the newspapers microfilmed by the DNP. Service copies are available at the University of Delaware Library (New Castle County), the Delaware Historical Society (New Castle County), and the Delaware Public Archives (Kent County). All of these libraries are open to the public and have the capability of making print copies from microfilm.
  • At the contributing institution.
    Each institution has a microfilm copy of the newspapers it contributed to the DNP. Some institutions have facilities to make print copies from the microfilm, and others do not. Please inquire with the institution about access to the collection and capability for making print copies from microfilm.
  • Borrowing through interlibrary loan.
    Some institutions have procedures for borrowing microfilm through interlibrary loan. Have your public or academic library inquire about interlibrary loan procedures and availability.
  • Purchasing copies.
    It is possible to purchase microfilm copies of any or all newspapers included in the Delaware Newspaper Project. These microfilm copies are produced by the Delaware Public Archives. The Delaware Public Archives requires written authorization from the contributor of the newspaper to make microfilm copies. In order to purchase the whole project, authorization must be obtained from all contributors. Some newspapers had more than one contributor for the complete run that was microfilmed; in such cases, written authorization must be provided to the Delaware Public Archives from all contributors. Information about the microfilmed newspapers and their contributors is available on the Delaware Newspaper Project: Microfilmed Newspaper List.

Delaware Newspaper Project (Part of USNP) (1983-1996)

History

The United States Newspaper Program (USNP) was a national project whose goal was to locate, catalog, preserve and provide access to the journalistic history of the United States through its newspapers. The program was supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities with technical assistance provided by the Library of Congress. The USNP operated from 1980-2007.

The program operated on a state-by-state basis with responsibility for an entire state assigned to one institution. The Delaware Newspaper Project was sponsored by the Council of Historical Libraries of Delaware (CHILD). The University of Delaware Library was the lead institution in the project.

The project involved grants applications, planning, inventorying, cataloging, and microfilming and took place between 1983 and 1996.

Grants History

In 1983, the University of Delaware Library, acting on behalf of CHILD, submitted a grant proposal to the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) requesting support to develop a plan for a comprehensive survey of newspaper holdings in the state, to prepare an inventory of newspaper locations, and to develop a methodology for entering bibliographic data into an online database. This cooperative newspaper preservation project was supported by NEH, and a plan to catalog Delaware's newspapers was developed.

A second proposal was submitted to NEH in 1985, again by the University of Delaware Library acting on behalf of CHILD, which requested funds to inventory newspaper repositories in the state and to enter bibliographic and holdings data into a national database according to CONSER ( Cooperative ONline SERials Program) guidelines. The cataloging work, completed in 1989, resulted in 796 titles cataloged of which 340 were Delaware newspaper titles and produced a union list of institutional newspaper holdings for the state of Delaware. A bibliographic record for each title, with holdings information, was made available through the University of Delaware catalog (which at that time was called DELCAT*) as well as in the following publications: Union List of Newspapers in Delaware (Ref Z6952 .D3 U54 1990) and United States Newspaper Program National Union List (Ref Z6945 .U55x 1993).

In 1992, the University of Delaware Library submitted a third grant proposal to fund the microfilming of significant and historical newspapers identified in earlier phases of the Delaware Newspaper Project. The successful grant began in 1993 and was completed in 1996. More than 150 newspapers (700,000 pages) were microfilmed under this phase of the United States Newspaper Program. A bibliographic record for each title, with holdings information, was made available in DELCAT. The bibliographic records in DELCAT can be found by executing a keyword search on "delaware newspaper project".

(Currently the University of Delaware Library catalog/discovery system is DELCAT Discovery, a WorldCat database.

Microfilmed Newspaper List

Title of Newspaper

Place of Publication

Holdings

Contributing Institution

Advance (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 2, no. 47 (Sept. 22, 1900) DWW
Advertiser (Wilmington, Del. : 1879) * Wilmington v. 1 (1879) [gaps] DWW
Advertiser (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1 (1879-1880) [gaps] HTS
Airlifter (Dover, Del.) Dover v. 13 (1976) - v. 32 (1990) [gaps] DOV
American Watchman and Delaware Advertiser Wilmington v. 1 (1822) - v. 7 (1828) HTS
Arrow (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v.1 (1959) HTS
Bi-State Weekly Delmar 1938 - 1964 DWW
Blue Hen's Chicken * Wilmington v. 4 (1848) - v. 9 (1854) DWW HTS
Blue Hen's Chicken & Delaware Democratic Whig * Wilmington v. 1 (1845/46), v. 2 (1847) DEH DWW HTS
Blue Hen's Chicken and Commonwealth * Wilmington v. 5 (1862) HTS
Brandywine Bulletin Wilmington 1935 - 1938 DWW
Brandywine Hundred Gazette * Wilmington 1941 DWW
Brandywine Hundred News * Grubbs v. 1, no. 1 (Apr. 20, 1928) and v. 1, no. 2 (June 1928) DWW
Brandywine News (Wilmington, Del. : 1931) Wilmington 1931 - 1935 [gaps] DWW
Brandywine News (Wilmington, Del. : 1938) Wilmington 1938 - 1941 DWW
Brandywine Record * Wilmington 1946 - 1947 DWW
Bridgeville News Bridgeville v. 2 - 23 (1936 - 1953) [gaps] BPL
Business Index (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1 (1876) [gaps] HTS
Claymont News * Claymont v. 2, no. 14 (July 15, 1932) DWW
Clayton Call Clayton v. 9, no. 3 (July 6, 1897) HTS
Clayton Herald Clayton v. 1, no. 17 (Aug. 17, 1867) - v. 3, no. 14 (July 31, 1869) [gaps] HTS
Commonwealth (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 2 (1858/1859), v. 1 (1863) HTS
Commuter News Wilmington no .622 - 1036 (1977 - 1980) [gaps] DLM
Commuter News Digest Wilmington 1974 - 1977 DLM
County News * Milford v. 1 (1988) DLM
Daily Enterprise (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1 (1858) [gaps] DWW HTS
Daily Gazette (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v. 84 (1874) - v. 96 (1881), v. 10 (1881) - v. 12 (1883) HTS
Daily Post (Newark, Del.) Newark v.1 (1972) - v.2 (1973) NHS
Daily Republican (Wilmington, Del. : 1874) * Wilmington v. 1 (1874) - v. 18 (1888), 1888 - 1890 HTS
Daily Republican (Wilmington, Del. : 1902) * Wilmington Oct. 4, 1902 - May 20, 1903 [gaps] DEH HTS
Defender (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v.1 (1966) - v.2 (1967) DWW
Delaware Abolitionist * Wilmington v. 1, no. 2 (1848), v. 2, no. 14 (1848) DWW
Delaware Advertiser & Star Wilmington July 5, 1832 DLM
Delaware Advertiser and Farmer's Journal * Wilmington v. 2 (1829), v. 5 (1831) HTS
Delaware Alternative Press Newark Oct. 1981 - Sept. 1985 [gaps] DLM
Delaware Capital Times * Dover v. 1 (1975) DLM
Delaware City News Delaware City v. 3, no. 30 (July 9, 1887) - v. 2, no. 41 (Apr. 11, 1889) HTS
Delaware City Press Delaware City v. 1, no.1-42 (Feb. 1913 - Dec. 12, 1913) [gaps] HTS
Delaware Coast Press * Rehoboth Beach 1949 - 1993 DLM
Delaware Democrat (Georgetown, Del.) * Georgetown v. 1 (1882) [gaps] HTS
Delaware Democrat (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1 (1857) [gaps] HTS
Delaware Farm and Home * Wilmington v. 2 - 11 (1886 - 1895) [gaps] DWW KETA
Delaware Gazette (Wilmington, Del. : 1809) * Wilmington v. 1 (1809-1810) HTS
Delaware Gazette (Wilmington, Del. : 1837) * Wilmington v. 25 (1839), v. 70 (1861), v. 72 (1863) - v. 74 (1864), v. 84 (1874) HTS
Delaware Gazette and American Watchman * Wilmington v. 11 (1830) - v. 13 (1833) DWW HTS
Delaware Gazette and Peninsula Advertiser * Wilmington v. 4 (1817) - v. 5 (1818) HTS
Delaware Gazette and State Journal Wilmington v. 4 - 28 (1883 - 1902) [gaps] HTS
Delaware Herald (Smyrna, Del.) * Smyrna v. 1, no. 28 (May 28, 1851) HTS
Delaware Inquirer (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v. 1 (1859-1860), v. 3 (1861) - v. 4 (1863) HTS
Delaware Journal * Wilmington v. 1 (1827) - v. 2 (1829) [gaps] HTS
Delaware Leader * Laurel v. 4, no. 9 (May 8, 1920) HTS
Delaware Ledger * Newark v. 6 (1883) - v. 12 (1889), v. 44 (1923) - v. 56 (1934) DLM DWW HTS
Delaware Observer * New Castle v. 1 (1968/1969) DWW
Delaware Patriot & American Watchman Wilmington v. 1 (1828) HTS
Delaware Porcupine * Wilmington 1938 - 1939, 1961 - 1966 DLM
Delaware Register, or, Farmers', Manufacturers' and Mechanics' Advocate * Wilmington v. 1 (1828-1829) DLM
Delaware Reporter * Wilmington v. 1, no. 1-16 (July 12, 1940 - Dec. 13, 1940) DWW
Delaware Republican (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v. 3 (Feb. 24, 1843), 1866, Jan. 1873-July 1874 DWW
Delaware Republican, and Farmers', Manufacturers' and Mechanics' Advocate Wilmington v. 2, no. 67 (Oct. 8, 1841) - v. 3, no. 35 (July 22, 1842) [gaps] DWW
Delaware Sentinel (Dover, Del.) Dover v. 6 (1980) - v. 14 (1988) TOWN
Delaware Spectator * Wilmington v. 3 (1974) - v. 4 (1975) DLM
Delaware Star Wilmington v. 1 (1976) - v. 2 (1978) DLM
Delaware State Journal (Wilmington, Del. : 1870) Wilmington 1870, v. 39 (1871) - v. 43 (1874), v. 1 (1880) - v. 4 (1883) HTS
Delaware State Journal and Statesman * Wilmington v. 25 (1857), v. 29 (1861) - v. 38 (1870) HTS
Delaware State Journal, Advertiser and Star * Wilmington v. 1 (1833 [gaps] DLM
Delaware State Reporter * Dover v. 1 (1853), v. 3 (1854) - v. 4 (1854), v. 6 (1856) - v. 8 (1856), v. 10 (1858) HTS
Delaware Straight-Out Truth Teller * Wilmington v. 1, no .1 (Oct. 1872) HTS
Delaware Sun Newark Sept. 18, 1958 - Mar. 16, 1961 DLM
Delaware Tribune (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v. 1 (1867) - v. 5 (1871), v. 7 (1873) - v. 10 (1876) HTS
Delaware Tribune, and Delaware State Journal Wilmington v. 11, no. 544-562 (June 14, 1877 - Oct. 18, 1877) HTS
Delaware Valley Defender Wilmington 1969 - 1973 DWW
Delaware Valley Star Wilmington v. 2 (1978) - v. 10 (1984) DLM
Delaware Wave Bethany Beach v. 54 (1990) - v. 56 (1993) [gaps] DLM
Delaware Weekly Advertiser and Farmer's Journal * Wilmington v. 1 (1828) HTS
Delaware Weekly Republican * Wilmington v. 8, no. 42 (Apr. 30, 1847) - July 31, 1884 [gaps] HTS DLM
Delawarean Dover v. 41 (1900) - v. 42 (1901) [gaps] DLM
Delawarean, and Farmers' and Mechanics' Advertiser * Wilmington v. 3, no. 23 (Dec. 17, 1836) HTS
Delaware's News Week Dover v.1 (1975) - v .6 (1980) DELAWARE'S
NEWS WEEK
Delmar News * Delmar v. 1 (1904) [gaps] DBA
Delmarvia Leader Wilmington 1923 - 1925 [gaps] DWW
Delmarvia Monthly Review Wilmington 1926 - 1937 [gaps] DWW
Delmarva News Selbyville 1955 - 1990 [gaps] DLM
DelmarvIa Review Wilmington v. 1, no. 1-197 (June 26, 1937 - Dec. 27, 1946) DWW
Delmarva Sportsmen's Index * Dover v. 21 (1959) [gaps] DLM
Diamond State * Milford v. 1 (1855) - v. 2 (1857) HTS
Dover Argus and Delaware Advertiser * Dover v. 1, no. 42 (Oct. 24, 1804) DBA
Dover Herald * Dover v. 1 (1800) DBA
Dover Post Dover v. 1 (1976) - v. 18 (1992) DOV
Evening Republican (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington Apr. 9, 1902 - Oct. 13, 1902 [gaps] DWW HTS
Faulkland Quiz * Faulkland v. 1, no. 9 (June 25, 1892) HTS
Front Page * Wilmington v. 2 (1945) DWW
Gazette (New Castle, Del.) New Castle v. 14 (1981) - v. 16 (1983) NTP
Grimshaw's Messenger * Wilmington v. 1, no. 2 (Apr. 1, 1858) HTS
Harrington Journal Harrington v. 18 (1933) - v. 26 (1940), v. 62 (1978) - v. 74 (1988) HARR
Herald (Smyrna, Del.) Smyrna v. 1, no. 27 (Aug. 6, 1870) - v. 2, no. 27 (Aug. 5, 1871) [gaps] HTS
Heterodoxical Voice Newark v. 1, no. 1 (Mar. 1968) - v. 1,no. 18 (Jan. 1970) DLM
Holiday Journal * Wilmington no. 1 (1879) HTS
Holly Oak Journal * Holly Oak v. 1 (1889) [gaps] HTS
Il Fuoco/Fire Wilmington v. 3, no. 15 (Apr. 5, 1930) - v. 8, no. 19 (Dec. 22, 1934) [gaps] DWW
Independent Delawarian * Wilmington v. 2, no. 22 (Nov. 29, 1848) DWW
Index (Dover, Del.) Dover v. 53 - 57 (1940-1943) [gaps] DLM
Labor Herald (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington 1923-1955 DLM
Leader and State Register Seaford 1982 - 1985 DLM
Messenger (Georgetown, Del.) Georgetown v. 1 - 7 (1858 - 1864) [gaps] DLM
Middletown Transcript Middletown v. 1 - 125 (1868-1992) [gaps] CTZA
Milford Beacon * Milford v. 6 (1854) HTS
Mirror of Times & General Advertiser * Wilmington v. 5 (1804) DLM
Monitor & Wilmington Repository * Wilmington v. 1 (1800) - v. 2 (1801) [gaps] HTS
Monitor, or, Delaware Federalist * Wilmington v. 2 (1801) [gaps] DLM
Morning Herald (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v. 1 (1875) - v. 3 (1877), v. 5 (1877) - v. 7 (1878), v. 10 (1878) - v. 12 (1878), v. 14 (1879) DWW
Museum of Delaware * Wilmington v. 1, no. 21 (Nov. 10, 1804) HTS
Museum of Delaware & General Advertiser * Wilmington v. 4, no. 259 (June 24, 1809) DLM
New Castle County Gazette New Castle v. 1 (1938) - v. 7 (1944) NTP
New Castle Eagle New Castle v. 1 (1983) - v. 9 (1991) NTP
New Castle Gazette (New Castle, Del.) New Castle v. 9 (1947) - v. 14 (1981) [gaps] NTP
New Castle Post New Castle v. 1 (1989-1990) NTP
New Castle Weekly New Castle v.1, no.1 - v.1, no. 50 (Jan. 9,1991 - Dec. 18, 1991) NTP
New Era (Middletown, Del.) * Middletown v. 6, no. 31 (Aug. 28, 1890) HTS
New Weekly Post Newark 1981 - 1984 DLM
Newark Ledger Newark v. 51, no. 48 (Aug. 7, 1880) DLM
Newark News Newark v. 1, no. 1 (Sept. 15, 1949) DLM
NewArk Post (Newark, Del. : 1985) Newark v. 75 (1985) - v. 80 (1990) DLM
Newark Post Weekly Newark v. 7 (1969/1970) DLM
Newark Sentinel * Newark v. 1 (1984) DLM
Newark Weekly Post Newark 1984 DLM
Newport Enterprise * Newport v. 1, no. 1 (1899) HTS
News of Brandywine * Wilmington 1942 - 1943 DWW
Odessa Herald * Odessa Nov. 3, 1888 - May 2, 1889 DWW
Odessa Leader * Odessa v. 1, no. 1 (Sept. 21, 1892) DWW
Peninsula Farmer * Dover v. 1 (1923) [gaps] KETA
Peninsula News and Advertiser (Milford, Del. : 1872) Milford v 9 - 14 (1872 - 1877) [gaps] DLM
People's Pulse * Wilmington 1968 - 1970 HTS DLM
Polonia Wilmington v. 1, no. 1-39 (Jul. 19, 1940 - Jun. 20, 1941) DWW
Post (Newark, Del. : 1990) Newark v .80 - v. 83 DLM
Public Press and Delaware Coast News * Rehoboth Beach 1946 - 1949 DBA
Record (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington 1950 - 1951 DWW
Record Advertiser Wilmington Dec. 1, 1949 - June 8, 1950 DWW
Saturday Visitor (Newark, Del.) Newark v. 1, no. 15 (Feb. 12, 1876) DLM
Smyrna Call Smyrna v. 4, no. 43 (Oct. 8, 1901) HTS
Smyrna Clayton Sun Smyrna v. 1 (1985) - v. 3 (1987) [gaps] KETB
Smyrna Clayton Sun Times Smyrna 1987 - 1992 [gaps] KETB
Smyrna Telegraph * Smyrna v. 1, no. 24 (Jan. 3, 1850), v. 1, no. 26 (Jan. 17, 1850), v. 1, no. 27 (Jan. 24, 1850), v. 1, no. 35 (Mar. 28, 1850) HTS
Smyrna Times * Smyrna 1971 - 1987 [gaps] KETB
Society News (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1 (1883) [gaps] HTS
State Register (Laurel, Del. : 1904) Laurel v. 66 - 82 (1951 - 1966) SUXA
State Register (Laurel, Del. : 1980) Laurel 1980 - 1982 SUXA
State Register and Bi-State Weekly Laurel 1966 - 1980 SUXA
State Register and Leader Seaford 1982 - 1992 SUXA
Statesman & Blue Hen's Chicken * Wilmington v. 10, no. 43 (Nov. 11, 1854) HTS
Suburban (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1, no. 6 (Jan. 1929) DWW
Suburban News (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington 1970 DWW
Sun (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v.1 - 5 (1897-1901) [gaps] HTS
Sunday Critic (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1 (1883) [gaps] HTS
Sunday Mirror (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1(1880) [gaps] HTS
Sussex Countian and Laurel Gazette * Laurel v. 13, no. 43 (Oct. 24, 1896) HTS
Sussex Gazette * Georgetown v. 1, no. 14 (1838) HTS
Sussex News (Milton, Del.) Milton Mar. 13, 1936, Aug. 7, 1936 BPL
Sussex Republican * Georgetown v .9 - 20 (1894 - 1911) [gaps] HTS
Tangent Newark v. 1, no. 1 (Mar. 1981) - v. 1, no. 22 (Dec. 1982) DLM
Taproot (Newark, Del.) * Newark v. 1 (1985) - v. 2 (1986) DLM
Town Talk (Wilmington, Del. : Brandywine ed.) Wilmington v. 1 (1984) - v. 3 (1986), v. 22 (1986) - v. 25 (1989) DLM
Towncrier * Milton 1950, v. 11 (1957) - v. 12 (1958), v. 8 (1959) MHS
Tygodnik Polonia Wilmington 1925 [gaps] DWW
Union (Georgetown, Del.) Georgetown v. 1 (1863-64) [gaps] DLM
Union Republican (Georgetown, Del.) * Georgetown Oct. 21, 1904 HTS
Views (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 2 (1933) [gaps] HTS
Weekly Delaware State Journal and Statesman * Wilmington v. 29 (1861) - v. 31 (1863), v. 33 (1865), v. 37 (1869) HTS DEH
Weekly Delaware State Journal, Statesman and Blue Hen's Chicken * Wilmington v. 25 (1857) DEH
Weekly Post (Newark, Del.) Newark v. 7 (1970) - v. 17 (1980) DLM
Weekly Post (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v. 1 (1889) [gaps] HTS
Weekly Times (Wilmington, Del.) * Wilmington v.1 (1886-1887) [gaps] HTS
Wiadomosci (Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington v. 1 (1937) - v. 11 (1948) [gaps] DWW
Wilmington Argus * Wilmington v. 1 (1880) [gaps] HTS
Wilmington Daily Commercial * Wilmington v. 7 - 11 (1872 - 1876) [gaps] DLM HTS
Wilmington Daily Gazette Wilmington v. 82 (1872) - v. 84 (1874) HTS
Wilmington Daily Republican * Wilmington Jan. 1, 1891 - Apr. 8, 1902 [gaps] DWW HTS
Wilmington Democrat Wilmington v. 3, no. 2 (Jan. 12, 1901) DLM
Wilmington Expositor * Wilmington v. 1, no. 1-46 (Aug. 28, 1831 - July 6, 1832) [gaps] DWW
Wilmington Herald Times * Wilmington v. 1, no.1-33 (Sept. 6, 1941 - Apr. 8, 1942) DWW
Wilmington Holiday Journal * Wilmington no. 2-6 (Dec. 3, 1879 - Dec. 31, 1879) HTS
Wilmington Lokal-Anzeiger und Wilmington Freie Presse * Wilmington v. 35, no. 20 (May 16, 1914) HTS
Wilmington Mercury * Wilmington 1798 HTS
Wilmington Record Wilmington 1961 - 1954 DWW
Wilmington Suburban News Wilmington 1939 - 1968 DWW
Wilmingtonian (Wilmington, Del. : 1823) * Wilmington v. 1, no.1 (sample issue) - v. 1, no. 35 (June 26, 1823 - May 13, 1824) HTS
Wilmingtonian (Wilmington, Del. : 1882) Wilmington v. 1 - 7 (1882 - 1888) [gaps] HTS
Wilmingtonian, and Delaware Advertiser * Wilmington v. 3, no. 7 (Nov. 10, 1821) - v. 4, no. 52 (Sept. 13, 1827) HTS
Wilmingtonian, and Delaware Register * Wilmington v. 1, no. 36 - v. 3, no. 6 (May 20, 1824) - v. 3, no. 6 (Nov. 4, 1825) HTS

 

* Indicates newspapers that share a reel with other newspapers.

Microfilm Copies

With the aid of the NEH grants, a microfilm master negative, print master, and service copies were made and stored at various institutions in Delaware, thus ensuring access for the future.

  • The master negative is stored with National Underground Storage where it is housed under climate-controlled conditions. The master negative is a preservation copy.
  • The print master is the copy from which other microfilm copies can be made. It is housed at the Delaware Public Archives. The procedures for purchasing a microfilm copy of any newspaper included in the Delaware Newspaper Project are described below.
  • There are four complete service copies available. Service copies consist of all the newspapers microfilmed. Each county has at least one copy and New Castle County has two copies. Presently there are complete service copies at the University of Delaware Library (New Castle County), the Historical Society of Delaware (New Castle County), and the Delaware Public Archives (Kent County).
  • Each institution that contributed newspapers for the Delaware Newspaper Project received a microfilm copy of the specific newspaper(s) it contributed.