Dissertations and Theses: Home

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Online Resources

Tip:

If you know the exact title of the thesis, put quotes around the title.

Searching Tips

Thesis authors can choose to not have their work included in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. In some cases, the only way to obtain the thesis is to contact the author.

In searching for UD theses by department:

  • Do not use the word "department"
  • Put quotes around keywords from department name if the words are adjacent
  • Still no luck? University departments and programs have changed through the years. Ask at the Reference Desk for ideas

If you know the exact title put quotes around it.

Senior Theses

Senior theses (Undergraduate Research Program)

Beginning May 2009, senior theses are submitted digitally.

 

University of Delaware Institutional Repository

Online access to fulltext Senior theses 2009 to present.

 

University Archives and Records Management (002 Pearson Hall; 831-2750)

Print copies of Senior theses up to 2009.

Contact University Archives to request a thesis. The Thesis Collection is stored off-site; allow at least one working day for retrieval.

Dissertations and Theses

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

University of Delaware Dissertations

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

The University of Delaware began granting doctoral degrees in 1948. The Library has copies of or online access to all dissertations.

Online:

1948-present

Print and/or microfiche:

1948-July 2005

Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.

University of Delaware Master's Theses

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.

Subject Guide

Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department,
(302) 831-1730
Subjects: Delaware, U.S. Government Information, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.

Ask a Librarian

Email: