Skip to main content

Dissertations and Theses: UD Theses and Borrowing or Purchasing

Information for Other Libraries

Contact University of Delaware Interlibrary Loan for more information.

The University of Delaware Library Interlibrary Loan will loan UD dissertations which the Library has in print or microfilm.

Beginning July 2005 all University of Delaware dissertations and theses are submitted digitally. The Library does not have print or microfilm copies.

University of Delaware Dissertations

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

The University of Delaware began granting doctoral degrees in 1948. The Library has copies of or online access to all dissertations.

Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.

Online:

1948 -- present

Print and/or microfiche:

1948 -- July 2005

University of Delaware Master's Theses

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.

Borrowing / Purchasing University of Delaware Theses

Dissertations
  • Available for loan, 1948 – July 2005 (hardbound or microfilm)
  • Not available for loan, July 2005 – present (no hardbound or microfilm)
  • Available online, freely accessible winter 2014 – present (UDSpace)
  • Available online, freely accessible, in database by choice of the author. Use PQDT Open
  • Purchase, use the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database
  • Purchase, if you don't have access to the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database, use Dissertation Express, the free order interface from ProQuest
Master’s Theses
  • Available for loan 1954 – July 2005 (hardbound or microfilm)
  • Not available for loan July 2005 – present (no hardbound or microfilm)
  • Available online, freely accessible, Fall 2009 to present (UDSpace)
  • Available online, freely accessible, in database by choice of the author. Use PQDT Open
  • Purchase, use the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database
  • Purchase, if you don't have access to the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database, use Dissertation Express, the free order interface from ProQuest

Finding Theses by Source

Options for Obtaining UD Theses

At the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library)

If you live nearby, you are welcome to come to the library and read or check out the print copy, read the microform copy, or use the “Dissertations & Theses @ University of Delaware” database (which contains full text).

Interlibrary Loan Service

Use the Interlibrary Loan service. Note: no theses available for loan after July 2005.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a library to library resource sharing network. Libraries borrow and lend materials for their library users.

Because this is a library to library service, you should start with your library, which for many people is their public library. Fill out a request form, giving all the information you know. Your library will contact the UD library which will loan the hard bound copy (or the microfilm copy), if available.

Purchase

You can buy theses from the ProQuest company.

You can use the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database if your library has access to it.

Or you can use Dissertation Express, the free order interface from ProQuest.

Subject Guide

Rebecca Knight's picture
Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H
(302) 831-1730


Subjects: U.S. Government Information,
Delaware, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

Searching Tips

Thesis authors can choose to not have their work included in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. In some cases, the only way to obtain the thesis is to contact the author.

In searching for UD theses by department:

  • Do not use the word "department"
  • Put quotes around keywords from department name if the words are adjacent
  • Still no luck? University departments and programs have changed through the years. Ask at the Reference Desk for ideas

If you know the exact title put quotes around it.

Close This