Skip to main content

English and American Literature: Book Reviews

Search Tips

When searching a database, such as Academic OneFile, try combining the book's title in quotation marks with the phrase "book review." Separate the two phrases with the keyword connector AND.

Sample search: "water for elephants" AND "book review"

Some databases offer users the option of limiting their searches by Document Type (book review). Look for the option on the Advanced Search page of the database if it is not listed on the initial search page.

Web Resources

H-Net Reviews
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly review resource. Reviews are published online via discussion networks and the H-Net website. Freely available. Covers 1993 to present.

Choosing Sources for Book Reviews

There are some questions to consider when choosing sources for book reviews.

  • When was the book published?
  • Do you need a full-text review from an online source?
  • What kind of book is it? Is it a popular novel, non-fiction, or a work of literature?

Are you looking for a book review or criticism of a literary work? If the latter, refer to the guidelines provided in the Databases for Literary Criticism section on the Databases page.

Book reviews are published to help people decide whether or not they should read and/or purchase a book. The review offers a description of the book's purpose and  content as well as the reviewer's evaluation and recommendation. Literary criticism gives a more in-depth explanation and scholarly interpretation based on a close reading of the text.

Databases for Book Reviews

Additional Sources for Book Reviews

Subject Librarian

Aimee Gee's picture
Aimee Gee
Contact:
English & American Literature Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6159

Subjects: English & American Literature, Comparative Literature, Theatre, Writing

Ask the Library

Close This