Skip to main content

English and American Literature: Microform Collections

English and American Plays

Nineteenth Century American Drama
Nineteenth Century English Drama
New Canaan, CT: Readex.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (American - Microfiche S250/English - Microfiche S249)

The collection offers plays published from 1801 through 1900 in printed and manuscript form. It continues English and American Drama of the Nineteenth Century.

Guide: Nineteenth Century English and American Drama: Cumulative Checklist. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

Three Centuries of English and American Plays, 1500-1830
New York: Readex.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfiche no. 1982)

Plays published in the English language in England from the year 1500 through 1800 and in the United States from 1714-1830. The collection includes manuscripts. Plays are arranged in separate chronological groups.

Guide: Three Centuries of English and American Plays: A Checklist. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection..

Biographies

American Biographical Archive I, II, III
New York, NY: K. G. Saur, 1989-1991.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfiche no. 1835, 1835.5, 1835.6)

American Biographical Archive reproduces biographical entries in hundreds of reference sources. ABA focuses on people who lived from the earliest period of North American history through the early twentieth century.

Guide: American Biographical Index (Ref CT211 .A45x 1993)


British Biographical Archive I and II
New York, NY: K. G. Saur, 1984-1989.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfiche no. 1448, 1448.5)

Biographical information reproduced from 324 reference books originally published between 1601 and 1929. The collection covers people "from England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, and from all British colonies to the date of their independence or home rule."

Guide: British Biographical Index
(Ref CT773 .B75 1990)


Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950
Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, 1987.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfiche no.1974)

Index: Black Biography, 1790-1950 and Black Biography Supplement, 1790-1950
(Ref E185.96 .B53x 1991 and Ref E185.96 .B532x 2000)

Individual Authors

The Paul L. Dunbar Papers at the Ohio Historical Society
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm no. 4040)

Guide: The Paul Laurence Dunbar Collection: An Inventory to the Microfilm Edition


The Virginia Woolf Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection at the New York Public Library
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm no.4623)

Reels 1-3 (diaries); reels 4-12 (manuscripts); reel 13 (reading notebooks); and reels 14-21 (correspondence).

Using Microforms in the Library

Microforms are housed in Room 008 on the lower level. There is equipment that allows users to view, print and scan images. Scanned images can be adjusted and saved or sent to email.

Printing from microform reader-printers costs 12¢ per page with flex money on an ID card or copy card. Scanning is free.

See the Student Multimedia Design Center staff for assistance.

Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Literature

American Prose Fiction, 1774-1875 (also called American Fiction, 1774-1875)
Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm S106)

The microfilm collection contains thousands of nineteenth-century American works of fiction. The collection reproduces works from Lyle H. Wright’s bibliographies American Fiction, 1774-1850, and American Fiction, 1851-1875.

There are no records for individual titles in DELCAT Discovery. Please use the print guide to the set (title below) to look for titles in the collection.

For online reproductions of works included in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875, search the Wright American Fiction website provided by Indiana University. There are WorldCat and WorldCat Local records for these titles.

Guide: American Prose Fiction, 1774-1900. Author index. (The guide covers titles that are not included in the microfilm set.)

Black Literature
Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, 1987-1996.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfiche no. 2006)

Fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. There are no records for individual titles in DELCAT Discovery.

Index: To search the over 70,000 citations, please use the online Black Literature Index included in the Black Studies Center database. For citations to content from the Chicago Defender for which full text is available in Black Studies Center, a link is included directly to the relevant article.

Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819 (Shaw-Shoemaker)
Worcester, MA: American Antiquarian Society; New York: Readex.
Location: Microforms (Microfiche S269.5)

American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the nineteenth century. The collection is based on American Bibliography, A Preliminary Checklist for 1801-1819, compiled by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. The arrangement is chronological and based on the Shaw-Shoemaker numbers. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.


Nineteenth Century English Fiction
Cambridge, MA: General Microfilm.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm S137)

A selective collection of fictional works of the nineteenth century. Some reels have the title Victorian and Other Nineteenth Century Fiction; others have Victorian Fiction.

Guide: Victorian FictionDELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

British and American Culture

American Culture Series, 1493-1875
Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm S34)

A collection of early American books and pamphlets dating from 1493 to 1875.

Guide: American Culture Series, 1493-1875: A Cumulative Guide to the Microfilm CollectionDELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

 

Eighteenth Century Sources for the Study of English Literature and Culture
Charlottesville, VA: Micrographics.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm S146)

Selected works relevant to the "literary, artistic and cultural milieu of eighteenth-century England." The collection consists of works of literary criticism and original texts.

Guide: Eighteenth-Century Sources for the Study of English Literature and CultureDELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.


Pamphlets in American History
Glen Rock, NJ: Microfilming Corp. of America
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfiche S83)

Group I: Biography (general), Indians, Revolutionary War Biography, Women.

Guide: Pamphlets in American HistoryDELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

Periodicals

British Periodicals in the Creative Arts
Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm S204)

Creative arts periodicals published in Great Britain between 1770 and the early twentieth century.

Guide: British Periodicals in the Creative Arts: An Index to the Microfilm Collection. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

 

Early British Periodicals
Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm S275)

A collection of eighteenth- and nineteenth-century British periodicals.

Guide: A Guide to Early British Periodicals Collection on Microfilm. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

 

English Literary Periodicals
Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm numbers vary)

The periodicals, published in Great Britain during the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, are predominantly literary in nature. Also included are theatrical, satirical, political, religious and women's magazines.

Guide: Accessing English Literary Periodicals: A Guide to the Microfilm Collection with Title, Subject, Editor, and Reel Number Indexes (Ref Z692 .S5 U56 1981). The guide does not provide article-level indexing. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

 

Nineteenth Century Theatre Periodicals
Brighton, Sussex: Harvester Microform.
Location: Morris Library - Microforms (Microfilm no. 3572)

Part 1: Theatre periodicals from 1800 to 1897 housed in the British Library, Bloomsberg. Part 2: Periodicals published from 1880 housed in the British Library Newspaper LIbrary, Colendale. Part 3: From the Theatre Museum, London and the Bodleian, Oxford.

There is no print guide for the set. Look for the list of contents at the beginning of each reel. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.

Subject Guide

Aimee Gee's picture
Aimee Gee
Contact:
English & American Literature Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6159

Ask the Library