Skip to main content

Historic Cooking Resources: Putting Historic Recipes in Context

Some Notable Books

DELCAT and WorldCat Local

DELCAT and WorldCat Local are the two “flavors” of the University of Delaware online library catalog. DELCAT provides detailed information about material in the University of Delaware Library. WorldCat Local provides information not only on UD Library holdings but also on material held in libraries worldwide.

Browse “subject begins with ...” cookery to find books about cooking—and explore other related subject headings, such as “food habits,” “food—history,” specific types of foods, nutrition, etc.

“Foodways” is an anthropological term describing the eating habits and culinary practices of a people, region, or historical period. It is not a term used in the LC cataloging system, but if you browse subject headings beginning with “foodways,” a Heading Information record leads you to the subject heading actually used: “food habits.”

Here are some specific subject headings that might be productive:

food—social aspects—[geographic place]—history—[chronological period]
food consumption—[geographic place]—history—[chronological period]
food habits—[geographic place]—history—[chronological period]

Bibliographies and Encyclopedias

These titles provide listings of historic American cookbooks and contextual information.

Brown, Eleanor Parker. Culinary Americana: Cookbooks Published in the Cities and Towns of the United States of America During the Years from 1860 through 1960. New York: Roving Eye Press [1961]
Z5776.G2 B7

The Cambridge World History of Food. Cambridge and New York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
Ref TX 353 .C255 2000

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. New York: Scribner, 2003.
Ref GT2850 .E53 2003

Lowenstein, Eleanor. Bibliography of American Cookery Books, 1742-1860. Worcester [Mass.]: American Antiquarian Society, 1972.
Z5776 .G2L68 1972

Marks, Gil. Encyclopedia of Jewish Food. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons, 2010.
TX724 .M31947 2010

Newman, Jacqueline M. Melting Pot: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Food and Nutrition Information for Ethnic Groups in America. (Garland Reference Library of Social Science; v. 708) New York: Garland Pub., 1993.
Z7914 .F63 N48 1993

The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Ref TX349 .O94 2007

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America. 2 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Ref TX349 .E45 2004b

Books

African American Foodways: Explorations of History and Culture, ed. by Anne L. Bower. Urbana and Chicago: University of Illinois Press, 2007.
TX715 .A2428 2007

Camp, Charles. American Foodways: What, When, Why and How We Eat in America. (The American Folklore Series) Little Rock: August House, 1989.
TX357 .C257 1989

Coe, Andrew. Chop Suey: A Cultural History of Chinese Food in the United States. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
TX724.5.C5 C64 2009

Diner, Hasia R. Hungering for America: Italian, Irish, and Jewish Foodways in the Age of Migration. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2001.
GT2853 .U5 D54 2001

Eating in Eden: Food and American Utopias, edited by Etta M. Madden and Martha L. Finch. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2006.
TX631 .E37 2006

Edge, John T., ed. Foodways. (The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, v. 7) Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2006.
F209 .N47 2006 v.7

Fisher, Carol. The American Cookbook: A History. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2006.
TX715 .F534 2006

Food: The History of Taste. (California Studies in Food and Culture; 21) Berkeley: University of California Press, 2007.
TX353 .F668 2007

Houston, Lynn Marie. Food culture in the Caribbean. (Food Culture around the World, 1545-2638) Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2005.
TX716.A1 H67 2005
There are other titles in this series. Search in DELCAT under the title “Food Culture around the World.”

Janer, Zilkia. Latino Food Culture. (Food Cultures in America) Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.
TX716.A1 J36 2008
There are other titles in this series. Search in DELCAT under the title “Food Cultures in America.”

Kurlansky, Mark. The Food of a Younger Land. New York: Riverhead Books, 2009.
TXS715 .F685 2009
“A portrait of American food—before the national highway system, before chain restaurants, and before frozen food, when the nation’s food was seasonal, regional, and traditional.”

Laszlo, Peter. Citrus: A History. Chicago and London: University of Chicago Press, 2007.
See also his Salt: Grain of Life.
SB369 .L37 2007

McGovern, Una and Jenner, Paul. Lost Lore: A Celebration of Traditional Wisdom from Foraging and Festivals to Seafaring and Smoke Signals. Edinburgh: Chambers, 2009.
GR66 .M34x 2009
“Socializating and Celebration,”, pp. 97-156, and “Household,” pp. 159-248, cover such topics as etiquette regarding dining and food preservation.

Ozersky, Joshua. The Hamburger: A History. New Haven and London: Yale University Press, 2008.
TX749.5 .B43O94 2008

Riley, Gillian. The Oxford Companion to Italian Food. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
TX723 .R5265 2007

Smith, Andrew F. Eating History: 30 Turning Points in the Making of American Cuisine. New York: Columbia University Press, 2009.
TX715 .S651315

Standage, Tom. An Edible History of Humanity. New York: Walker & Co., 2009.
“This book looks at history ... as a series of transformations caused, enabled, or influenced by food.”
GT2850 .S73 2009

Willard, Pat. America Eats! On the Road with the WPA: The Fish Fries, Box Supper Socials, and Chitlin Feasts That Define Real American Food. New York: Bloomsbury, 2008.
Streaming media from the NPR series entitled “‘America Eats’: A Hidden Archive from the 1930s” is available. Recipes and other material are also available at the NPR site.
TX715 .W71125 2008

Zanger, Mark. The American History Cookbook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003.
TX715 .Z36 2002
“This book has more than 350 recipes, exactly as written down between 1524 and 1977.”

Databases

Subject Guide

Erin Daix's picture
Erin Daix
Contact:
Director of Assessment
Office of the Vice Provost
(302) 831-6943
Send Mail

Subjects:
Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Disaster Studies, Gerontology, Legal Studies, Sociology

Ask the Library

Close This