Skip to main content

Historic Cooking Resources: Selected Bibliography of Materials in Special Collections

Additional Resources

This list of historic cookbooks represents only a small portion of the resources available in Special Collections on cooking and dining. Additional resources are listed on:

An American Feast: Food, Dining, and Entertainment in the United States from Simmons to Rombauer

Defining Her Life: Advice Books for Women

Delaware Cooks: A Selection of Cookbooks Published in Delaware

Etiquette: Selected Primary Resources

Special Collections

Beeton, Mrs. (Isabella Mary), 1836-1865.
The Book of Household Management.  London: Ward, Lock, and Tyler, [1869].
Special Collections  TX717 .B4 1869
Digital version of 1863 edition available on Google Books.

Björklund, Gustava.
Svenska kokboken: en praktisk kokbok afsedd för svenskarne i Amerika. Chicago, Ill.: Svenska tribunen-nyheter, [19-?].
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only   TX725.S8 B53 1900z

Bonnefons, Nicolas de.
Les delices de la campagne: où il est enseigne à preparer pour l'usage de la vie, tout ce qui croît sur la terre, & dans les eaux.  A Paris: Chez Claude Prudhomme ..., 1711.
Special Collections Horticulture   SB91 .A2 B649 1711

Bonnefons, Nicolas de.
Le jardinier François: qui enseigegne a cultiver les arbres, & herbes potageres.  A Paris: Chez Anthoine Cellier ..., 1666.
Special Collections Horticulture   SB91 .A2 B65 1666

Briggs, Richard.
The New Art of Cookery: According to the Present Practice; Being a Complete Guide to All Housekeepers, on a Plan Entirely New ...  Philadelphia: Printed for W. Spotswood, R. Campbell, and E. Johnson., 1792.
Special Collections  TX703 .B7

Carter, Susannah.
The Frugal Housewife, or, Complete Woman Cook: Wherein the Art of Dressing All Sorts of Viands, with Cleanliness, Decency, and Elegance, Is Explained in Five Hundred Approved Receipts ... Philadelphia: Printed by J. Carey ..., 1796.
Special Collections TX 705 .C335x 1796
Digital version of 1803 edition available at the Feeding America site.

Centennial souvenir du restaurant Antoine, 1840-1940, Roy L. Alciatore, proprietor.  [New Orleans: s. n., 1940].
Special Collections  TX945.5.A5 C46x 1940

Cerwin, Herbert, ed.
Famous Recipes by Famous People: the American Association of Gourmets Presents the Epicurean Delights of Those Who Really Like to Know What to Eat, in Hope That the Tea Room, the Quick Lunch Counter and the Hamburger Stand Will Take Their Place along with the Forgotten Man. Del Monte, Calif.: Hotel Del Monte, 1936.
Special Collections  TX715 .C47

Cook Book by the Working Band of the Napoleon Avenue Presbyterian Church. [New Orleans, La.: Napoleon Avenue Presbyterian Church], 1914.
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only   TX715 .C667217 1914

Cousin d’Avallon, Charles Yves Cousin, called, 1769-1840.
La nouvelle cuisinière bourgeoise.  Paris, chez Davi et Locard, Pigoreau, Philippe, 1817.
Special Collections  TX719 .C68 1817

Déliée, Felix J.
The Franco-American Cookery Book; Or How to Live Well and Wisely Every Day in the Year. New York, G. P. Putnam’s sons, 1891.
Special Collections  TX715 .D35 1891
Digital version of 1884 edition available on Google Books.

Farmer, Fannie Merritt, 1857-1915.
The Boston Cooking-School Cook Book.  Boston, Little, Brown and Company, 1896.
Special Collections  TX715 .F234 1896
Digital version of 1916 edition available on Google Books.

Federated Women’s Institutes of Ontario. Welland Branch.
Good Things to Eat and How to Prepare Them ... Welland, Ont.: Printed at the Office of the Tribune, [1908?]
Special Collections TX715 .F44 1908

Flexner, Marion W., 1899-1992.
Dixie Dishes. Boston: Hale, Cushman & Flint, c1941.
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only TX715 .F616 1941

Gilliers, d. 1758.
Le cannameliste français; ou, Nouvelle instruction pour ceux qui desirent d'apprendre l'office, rédigé en forme de dictionnaire ...  Nancy, J. B. H. Leclerc, imprimeur-libraire, 1768.
Special Collections  TX707 .G54

Greenberg, Betty D. (Betty Davis)
The Jewish Home Beautiful.  New York: The Women's League of the United Synagogue of America, c1941 (1955 printing)
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only   BM690 .G68 1941

Hale, Sarah Josepha Buell, 1788-1879.
Mrs. Hale’s Receipts for the Million.  Philadelphia, T.B. Peterson, [c1857].
Special Collections  TX153 .H16
Digital version available at Google Books.

Leslie, Eliza, 1787-1858.
Directions for Cookery: Being a System of the Art, in Its Various Branches by Miss Leslie...  Philadelphia: E. L. Carey & A. Hart, 1837.
Special Collections  TX715 .L627 1837
Digital version of 1844 edition available at Google Books.

Marinetti, Filippo Tommaso, 1876-1944.
... La Cucina Futurista.  Milano: Casa Editrice Sonzogno, [1932]
Special Collections  TX723 .M36

Matthiessen, Adèle Gignoux.
Nonpareil Practical Cook Book. Chicago: A. C. McClurg & Company, 1889.
Special Collections TX715 .M443 1889

101 Ways to Prepare Macaroni.  Brooklyn, N.Y.: V. La Rosa & Sons,  1937.
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only   TX809.M17 A16 1937

Pennsylvania Dutch Cook Book of Fine Old Recipes Compiled from Tried and Tested Recipes Made Famous and Handed down by the Early Dutch Settlers in Pennsylvania.  Reading, Pa.: Culinary Arts Press, 1936.
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only   TX721 .P46x 1936

The Picayune’s Creole Cook Book.  New Orleans, La., The Picayune 1910.
Special Collections  TX715 .P6 1910

Randolph, Mary, 1762-1828.
The Virginia Housewife, or, Methodical Cook.  Baltimore: Plaskitt, Fite, 1838.
Special Collections  TX 715 .R215 1838
Digital version available at the Feeding America site.

Rhett, Blanche Salley.
200 Years of Charleston Cooking.  New York: Random House, 1934.
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only TX715 .R472 1934b

Rhodes, Susie Root. The Economy Administration Cook Book ... New York, London: Syndicate Pub. Co., [1913].
Special Collections TX715 .R48 1913

Rombauer, Irma von Starkloff, 1877-1962.
The Joy of Cooking.  Indianapolis, New York, The Bobbs-Merrill Company [1936]
Special Collections  TX715 .R75 1936

The Serv-u-well Swedish Cook Book.  Worcester, Mass.: Young Woman’s Missionary Society, First Lutheran Church, 1941.
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only   TX722.S8 S47 1941

Simmons, Amelia.
American Cookery; Or, The Art of Dressing Viands, Fish, Poultry, and Vegetables, and the Best Modes of Making Pastes, Puffs, Pies, Tarts, Puddings, Custards and Preserves, and All Kinds of Cakes, from the Imperial Plumb to Plain Cake, Adapted to This Country, and All Grades of Life. By Amelia Simmons, an American Orphan ...  Hartford, Hudson & Goodwin, 1796.
Special Collections  TX703 .S5
Digital version of 1798 edition available at the Feeding America site.

Tanty, François.
La Cuisine Française: French Cooking for Every Home. Adapted to American Requirements.  Chicago,: Baldwin, Ross & Co., [1893].
Special Collections  TX719 .T3 In Process

Temple Beth Emeth (Wilmington, Del.) Sisterhood.
Dishes Delicious.   [194-?]
Special Collections Delaware   TX715 .T285 1940

Tempting Kosher Dishes: Prepared from World Famous Manischewitz’s Matzo Products: 250 Recipes Tested and Approved in the Manischewitz Experimental Kitchens.  Cincinnati: B. Manischewitz Co., 1930.
Special Collections  TX724 .T46 1930 In Process

W. M.
The Compleat Cook: Expertly Prescribing the Most Ready Wayes, Whether Italian, Spanish or French, for Dressing of Flesh and Fish, Ordering of Sauces, of Making of Pastry. London: Printed by J. Winter, for Nath. Brooke..., 1668.
Special Collections  AG104 .Q3 1668

Winter, Patricia.
Recipe Magic.  Juniper Hills [Conn.]: House of Herbs Inc., 1944.
Library Annex Special Collections Use Only   TX819.H4 W56 1944

Manuscripts

Delaware Nineteenth Century Business and Trade Card Collection. 1850-1950 (bulk dates 1876-1900)
Spec Manuscript Collection Number: 428

Manuscript recipe book, dated between 1867 and 1888. (MS97, No. 102)

Food receipt book of Sarah K. Fotterall, dated circa 1864. (MS97, No. 107)

American cookery and household receipts, dated between 1835 and 1858. (MS97, No. 145)

Recipe book, dated between 1852 and 1878. (MS97, No. 150)

Recipe book of Mary Baker, circa 1730 (MS97 No. 156)

Subject Guide

Erin Daix's picture
Erin Daix
Contact:
Erin Daix
Director of Assessment
Office of the Vice Provost
(302) 831-6943
Send Mail

Subjects:
Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Disaster Studies, Gerontology, Legal Studies, Sociology

Ask the Library

Close This