History: Home

Related Guides

Featured Resources


Illustrated London News - 19 October 1844 header

The Illustrated London News (1842-2003) was the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper.  Its coverage of society, the arts, culture, literature, and politics is remarkable. Read the essays on the ILN's website for an understanding of just how important this periodical was.

 

19th Century U.K. Periodicals includes more than 300 periodicals in Part 1: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour & Leisure/Sport and Part 2: Empire: Travel & Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Research in History at the University of Delaware Library

This guide collates information about the resources available at the University of Delaware Library for conducting historical research. It provides links to books, online databases, electronic journals, websites and other University of Delaware resources.

Click on the tabs above to explore various aspects of historical research. Other guides, listed on the left, focus on related disciplines or more narrow historical topics.

image of dictionary General Resources: online and print reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks which can quickly introduce you to a concept.
image of books

Books/E-Books: search the Library's online catalog and electronic book collections to find material relating to history.

image of keyboard

Databases/Articles: databases include articles published in the historical literature as well as full-text collections of primary resources.

image of electronic journal

E-Journals:  electronic journals in history available in the University of Delaware Library.

image of American Memory page

Websites:  Highly selective list of links to websites relating to the history of the United States and world history.

image of UD building

Campus Resources: other departments, programs, and centers on campus and publications relating to history

image of archival material

Archives/Primary Sources:  information about archival repositories, libraries, and collections of primary sources.

image of Franklin bust

Images:  links to collections of images for historical research

image of Philadelphia row house

Regional Resources:  information about institutions relating to history in Delaware, Pennsylvnia, and Maryland.

Subject Guide

Carol Rudisell
Contact:
Librarian
(302) 831-6942

Subjects:African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Latin American Studies, Sexuality Studies, Women's Studies

Ask a Librarian

Need to Create a Bibliography?

Use RefWorks to save citations and create a bibliography and footnotes in seconds!

Log on to RefWorks

Recommendation for Library Purchase

The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.

Email: