Skip to main content

Latin American and Iberian Studies: Reference Resources

Online Reference Collections

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Print Encyclopedias

The following sources can provide you with basic information on topics such as cultural groups, political parties, historical periods, etc.

The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture. Edited by John King. New York: Cambridge University, 2004.
LOCATION: Morris Library (F1408.3 .C283 2004)
The Cambridge History of Latin America. 11 vols. New York: Cambridge University, 1984-.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref F1410 .C1834 1984)
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures. Edited by Daniel Balderston, Mike Gonzalez and Ana M. López. New York: Routledge, 2000.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref F1406 .E515 2000)
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. 5 vols. New York: C. Scribner's, 1996.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref F1406 .E53 1996)
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics . Edited by Diana Kapiszewski; Alexander Kazan, assistant editor. Westport, Conn.: Oryx, 2002.
LOCATION: Morris Library (F1410 .E56 2001)
Encyclopedia of World Cultures: South America. Vol. 7. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1991-1996.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref GN307 .E53 1991 v. 7)
Latin American Historical Dictionaries. Series. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow.
LOCATION: Morris Library (various call numbers)
This series consists of historical dictionaries about individual Latin American countries. Similar to an encyclopedia, each dictionary provides entries on various aspects of history, geography, politics and culture of a given country. To determine whether a historical dictionary has been published for a particular country, do a keyword search in DELCAT Discovery. Example: historical dictionary and paraguay
Latin American Studies: An Annotated Bibliography of Core Works.  Edited by Ana María Cobos and Ana Lya Sater.Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2002.
LOCATION:  Morris Library - Reference (Ref F1408 .C536 2002)
 
Reference Guide to Latin American History. New York: M.E. Sharpe, 2000.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref F1410 .R395 2000)
South America, Central American and the Caribbean. London: Europa Publications.
LOCATION: Morris Library (F1406.5 .S68)

Subject Guide

Megan Gaffney's picture
Megan Gaffney
Contact:
Interlibrary Loan Office, Morris Library

Associate Librarian &
Coordinator, Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Services;
Liaison to Romance Languages & Literatures, Latin American & Iberian Studies

Ask the Library

RefWorks