Marine Science and Policy

One of a number of “Virtual Library” pages found throughout the Web, this is a good beginning point for identifying Internet resources in broad subject areas within the ocean sciences. Includes links to newsgroups and bulletin boards, electronic publications, societies and conferences, as well as a geographic listing of resources, by continent. Includes a “What's New” section and a search engine.

The National Ocean Service provides data, tools, and services that support coastal economies and their contribution to the national economy.

“An educational resource for marine biology students with reference lists organized by subject.” Produced by the State University of New York at Stony Brook, this site presents both bibliographies of traditional printed works and links to Web resources. Arrangement is in a user-friendly frames layout which includes a section on careers, a glossary, and directories of marine laboratories and organizations.

MarineBio is an ever-evolving tribute to all ocean life that has been a central source online for the latest information concerning marine life and its biology, and especially its conservation, since 1998.

OceanLaw is “an independent initiative focusing on international law of the sea and international fisheries law research.” The Fisheries Law section includes compendia of legal texts and fisheries cases, as well as directories and annotated listings of organizations, a research Web pathfinder and a glossary. Also has links to a “Webzine” and a discussion list. Prepared by a PhD candidate at Cardiff Law School, U.K.

Part of the WWW Virtual Library, “the Admiralty and Maritime Law Guide includes over 1,500 annotated links to admiralty law resources on the Internet and a growing database of admiralty case digests, opinions and international maritime conventions. The emphasis is on the law of the United States and the focus is on Internet resources.” It is written and published by Todd Kenyon, an admiralty attorney and partner in the law firm Betancourt, Van Hemmen, Greco & Kenyon.