Related Guides
Searching Historical Newspapers
Archives
-
ArchiveGridNearly a million collection descriptions and online archival finding aids of archival material from more than 2,500 libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives around the world.
-
African American Research (NARA)A guide to the records of the National Archives and Records Adminstration (NARA)
-
C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexArchive Finder is part of C19: The Nineteenth Century Index. Click on “Search Indexes,” then “Archive Finder.” Covers 19th century collections only.
-
National Archives CatalogSearch the catalog and website of the U.S. National Archives.
-
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)OCLC records for manuscript and archival material.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Primary Sources
-
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998This collection of African American newspapers features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
-
African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyThis database contains the complete text of several major African American newspapers published in the United States and Canada during the 19th century.
-
American Civil War: Letters and DiariesContains diaries, letters and memoirs of more than 2,000 authors . Also includes previously unpublished manuscripts, biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
-
American Memory from the Library of Congress - African American HistoryIncludes early printed pamphlets and books by African American authors, documents on Slavery and the Courts, audio interviews of former slaves, and papers of Frederick Douglass and Zora Neale Hurston.
-
American Slave NarrativesCollection of interviews with former slaves, transcribed verbatim from the interview transcripts collected by writers of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the late 1930s. Part of the AS@UVA Hypertexts Project at the University of Virginia.
-
APS (American Periodicals Series) OnlineContains more than 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
-
Behind the Veil: Documenting African-American Life in the Jim Crow South | Duke University LibrariesAudio recordings with transcripts of 100 oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
-
Black Abolitionist PapersPrimary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the U.S. The collection includes articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts and literary works.
-
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the PresentProvides books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. It also includes issues of The Black Panther, the official newspaper of the Black Panther Party.
-
Colored Conventions: Bringing Nineteenth-Century Black Organizing to Digital LifeMinutes and other items documenting the Colored Convention movement, 1830 to ca. 1900.
-
Digital Library on American SlaveryA searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color. The information comes from petitions to southern legislatures and courts filed between 1775 and 1867 in the fifteen slaveholding states in the U.S. Copies of original petitions are available on microfilm. They are published under the title "Race, Slavery, and Free Blacks" and can be located in DELCAT Discovery.
-
Digital Schomburg | The New York Public LibraryIncludes online exhibitions using images, full-length books and articles, manuscripts, and maps. Exhibitions focus on special themes such as Abolition of the Slave Trade, the African American Migration Experience and African American Women Writers of the 19th Century.
-
Documenting Ferguson | Washington UniversityImages, videos and personal stories generated around the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri in August 2014.
-
Documenting the American SouthThis collection of documentary sources on the American South includes components on “North American Slave Narratives” and “The Church in the Southern Black Community.”
-
Du Bois Central | University of Massachusetts AmherstResources on the life and work of W.E.B. Du Bois, with links to digitized letters, photographs, and other manuscript materials.
-
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960sA database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals 1959 to 1971. Included are newsclippings, meeting transcripts, internal FBI memoranda and reports. Subjects of the investigations include Malcolm X, the Black Panther Party, SCLC, and SNCC.
-
Goin' NorthOral histories and photographs pertaining to the the migration of African Americans to Philadelphia from 1910 to 130.
-
HarpWeekA digitized edition of Harper’s Weekly, the leading illustrated American periodical of the last half of the nineteenth century. Covers 1857-1912.
-
History VaultIncludes The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century which is presented in two parts: Organizational Records and Personal Papers that presents 36 civil rights collections of individuals and organizations; and Federal Government Records, which consists of 37 collections from federal government agencies.
-
19th Century U.S. NewspapersTo get the most of out of this database, be sure to search the full document text and not just the keywords.
-
North American Womens Letters and Diaries: Colonial - 1950The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women’s diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black NewspapersTitles include: The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, New York New Amsterdam News, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies by title.
-
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection | Cornell University LibraryMore than 10,000 titles, including pamphlets and leaflets, that document the anti-slavery movement at local, regional, and national levels.
-
Selected Online Works by Civil War Era African American Women | Library of CongressDigital copies of books, including poetry, children's works, biographies of men and women, and other genres.
-
Umbra: Search African American HistoryHistorical images, videos, books and more drawn from libraries, archives and museums throughout the U.S.
-
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseA database containing information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages. Also includes statistical data, a timeline, lesson plans, document images and other educational resources on the slave trade.
-
Web Guides by the Library of Congress Digital Reference SectionIncludes links to African American material digitized as part of the American Memory Project. African American materials in other Library of Congress collections are also included.
Subject Librarian
Carol Rudisell
Contact:
Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6942
Subjects:African American Studies, Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Sexuality Studies, Women and Gender Studies
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6942
Subjects:African American Studies, Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Sexuality Studies, Women and Gender Studies
Ask the Library
Google Books
Google Books contains digital copies of older works that are out of copyright.