Skip to main content

U.S. Government Legal Information: Home

Federal Depository

The University of Delaware Library is a Federal Depository Library.

"A popular Government without popular information, or the means of acquiring it, is but as Prologue to a Farce or a Tragedy; or perhaps both. Knowledge will forever govern ignorance: And a people who mean to be their own Governors, must arm themselves with the power which knowledge gives."
– James Madison, "Letter to W. T. Barry" (August 4, 1822)

Quick Links


Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Includes some of the most frequently used government information sources. Examples: Congressional Record, Congressional bills and laws, Federal Register, Presidential papers, United States Government Manual, and United States Statutes at Large.

(formerly called FDsys)

Provides comprehensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional publications, and more than 2,400 scholarly journals. Also has subject specialized databases, such as, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America.

Comprehensive index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present. Complemented by library collections of government publications in paper, microfiche, and electronic formats.

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Contains information on Members of Congress, calendars of Congressional proceedings, and the legislative process. Presented by the Library of Congress.

Provides an overview of the regulatory process and current trends in regulation.

Tracking Legislation

Subject Librarian

Rebecca Knight's picture
Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H

Subjects: U.S. Government Information,
Delaware, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

Recommendation for Library Purchase

The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.