Skip to main content

U.S. Government Information: U.S. Government Publications Prior to 1994

Annex Request Form

The Library Annex is a remote storage area. Materials in the Annex can be brought to the Morris Library. The Library Annex Request Form is on the Library Web. On the home page select "Online Forms" (the icon is a checkmark).

The first line of the form asks for a UD identification number. If you are not affiliated with UD, type multiple zeros.

Most of the U.S. Documents in print are located in the Library Annex.

To reqest a publication from the Library Annex you must have a SuDocs call number. You should consult with a librarian before making this kind of request.

Finding Reports from Committees and Commissions

Finding SuDocs Call Numbers For Numbered Report Series

Publication included in a reference list:

U. S. Geological Survey. (1960). Cretaceous and tertiary formations of the Book Cliffs, Carbon, Emery, and Grand Counties, Utah, and Garfield and Mesa Counties, Colorado. Geological Survey professional paper 332.

A search in DELCAT Discovery gives this information: Not at UD Library. Available at other libraries.DELCAT Discovery does not list call numbers for other libraries.

Change tactics:

Instead of searching for the title of the report, search for the title of the series: "Geological Survey professional paper"

A DELCAT Discovery search has many results, among them:

Geological Survey (U.S.). Palynological evaluation of Cedar Mountain and Burro Canyon formations, Colorado Plateau. Geological Survey professional paper, 1281. By Tschudy, Robert H., Bernadine D. Tschudy, and L. C. Craig.  Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 1984. U.D. Library Annex I 19.16: 1281

(The call number begins with the letter "I" for Interior Department)

Submit a Library Annex request for call number I 19.16: plus the report number 1281.

Documents Not in DELCAT Discovery

Not all Government documents in the University of Delaware Library are listed in DELCAT Discovery.

Prior to 1994, documents were selectively added to the catalogs; prior to 1976, documents were seldom included in the catalogs.

 

To include older government publications in your search, examine the sources on the Databases tab. If none of these are helpful, the specialized indexes and databases listed here may help you find what you need.

1. Use a full text database that may have the publications

Example: (Digital) U.S. Congressional Serial Set for major publications from Congress (1817-1994)

2. Add the report number to a SuDocs call number

For a document that is identified by number, find the main part of a SuDocs call number (the stem) and add the report number. Request the publication from the Library Annex. This technique only works for publications that are part of a numbered reports series.

Example:

Finding SuDocs Call Numbers For Numbered Report Series

3. Find a SuDocs call number from a specialized index or database

Identify a publication in an index. Then request the document from the Library Annex.

Ask at the Information/Reference desk or use one of Ask the Library services if you need help.

Full Text Databases

Specialized Indexes

The following indexes and guides assist in finding earlier materials. Once you identify a publication in an index and have a SuDocs call number, you can request the document from the Library Annex. If the publication is not available, you can request it using Interlibrary Loan.

 

Here is an example using the Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1900-1971  (Reference Z1223 .A1 B824 1973) to find documents listed in the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications (U.S. Documents Reference GP 3.8:). The subject index identifies the year and entry number in the Monthly Catalog, which gives the SuDocs call number.

U.S. Documents in the Morris Library

Map of the Lower Level of the Morris Library

Detail of U.S. Documents Area (showing U.S. Document Microfiche cabinets and Maps cabinets)

Detail of Census and Reference Areas (followed by key)

U.S. Documents in the Library Annex

Some documents listed in DELCAT Discovery will have the location:

  • Library Annex or
  • Library Annex U. S. Documents

The Annex is a remote storage area. Anyone who needs items in the Library Annex may request the items by filling out an online form and the items will be brought to Morris Library.

To fill out the form, include the publication's call number. SuDocs call numbers look very different from other library call numbers. Examples:

 

Example 1

WorldCat Local

 

DELCAT

Example 2

 

In example 1, the location is given as Library Annex U. S. Documents. In example 2, the location is Library Annex. Fill out the request form with the location as written in the catalog.

Subject Guide

Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H
(302) 831-1730


Subjects:
Delaware, U.S. Government Information, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Close This