Skip to main content

Library Research Strategies: Finding Books and Articles

Finding Books

Looking up a book

DELCAT Discovery is the main gateway to the UD library's collection of books, eBooks, video collections, and items from libraries around the world.  If you are searching specifically for books, use the facets on the left side of the screen to limit your results just to the book format type. 

You can usually search DELCAT Discovery best with simple keyword searches, as you would search online.  Results can then be manipulated using facets such as author, format, date, or topic.  If you are looking for a specific book, it can be quicker to use the advanced search screen to search by an exact title, a known author, or a specific publication date.

How can I tell if a book is at the UD Library?

Results tagged with are held here at UD or are accessible through our library.  If you see on your result, this indicates that the item is not here at UD, but is available elsewhere.    Items not held by UD can be accessed using the Interlibrary Loan service.

How do I retrieve my book once I find one that looks useful?

Click on "Availability" to learn if a book is checked in, and to retrieve its call number.  For more information about how to locate a book in the library using a call number, please see How To Read A Call Number.

Finding Articles

Articles are one of the best resources for academic research because they cover very specific content, and often provide information that is more current than content found in books.  Whether you are looking for news articles on current events, or within academic research journals for studies which support your paper's thesis, you will most often find article sources by searching within a database.

Databases organize, or index, the many volumes and issues of journals, magazines, or newspapers to provide you with access to the articles published within these resources. 

You may wish to start your search for articles in one of the following resources:

DELCAT Discovery contains both books and articles, some of which will be available at the UD Library, others are owned by libraries around the world.  To view the full content of an article that you have found in DELCAT Discovery, click on "view now" or Get it! links
Academic OneFile:  This is a great database for getting started.  It covers all subjects, and provides access to both scholarly journal content as well as newpapers and magazines.
Lexis Nexis Academic:  This resource will connect you to newspaper articles from around the world.  It includes the full text of publications such as the New York Times and the Washington Post.

However, these few databases are not the only resources you will need to investigate most research topics!  The Library has over 360 databases, and to find the ones that are best suited for your topics, you will need to investigate our Research Guides.  Search for the broad subject(s) that your topic fits within (such as history or psychology), and you will discover lists of databases for that subject area as well as helpful research tips.

Using Get It!

Sometimes databases will contain links to electronic copies of full articles.  These are known as "full text" articles.  Get it! is a system that helps researchers quickly connect to full text articles when searching online.

Get It! searches though the library's database and journal subscriptions to connect researchers to the full text of the desired article. When searching in a database that is Get It! -enabled, you will see a small link or button labeled Get It! beneath the article records that are returned by the database.  Clicking Get It! will either bring you directly to the article, or will provide the following options:

Clicking on GET ARTICLE will bring you to a copy of the article, while the GO TO JOURNAL option will bring you to the journal's home page.

If Get it! cannot locate a full-text copy of the article or an electronic subscription to the journal that published the article, you will see the following:

The best next step is to use the link to DELCAT Discovery to search for the journal by title or ISSN to determine if we have this journal in print in the library for the year in which your article was published.  If you have searched DELCAT Discovery and find that we don't have the journal containing your article, you can use the link to interlibrary loan to request that the article be delivered to you from another library.

Subject Guide

Meg Grotti's picture
Meg Grotti
Contact:
Assistant Head of Instructional Services, Reference and Instructional Services Department
(302) 831-6310
http://orcid.org/0000-0001-7161-0672

Subjects: Education
Psychological and Brain Sciences
Website

Help Along the Way

Research Guides

When setting out to conduct your research, your first step should be to locate the guide that has been created by librarians to help point you to appropriate resources.  Go to the Research Guides page and search for your subject area.  You can use the guide to learn more about the process of conducting research in your discipline, to determine which of the library's many databases you should consult for your specific research need.

Your Librarian

Sometimes a half an hour with an expert can save you days of frustration.  If you are doing more complex research within a subject and would like to hit the ground running, consult the listing of subject librarians, and consider making an appointment with a specialist!