Skip to main content

History and Delawareana in Special Collections: Maps

From the collection


Robert Sayer and John Bennett (Firm). The American military pocket atlas: being an approved collection of correct maps, both general and particular, of the British colonies. London: Printed for R. Sayer and J. Bennett, Map and Print-sellers (No.53) Fleet-street, [1776].

About the collection

The Historic Map Collection at the University of Delaware Library comprises over 800 published maps dating from the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries. The majority of the maps depict North America during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, but the collection also holds early maps of the New World, maps of Europe, Asia, South America, and Africa, as well as world maps and atlases. Although this is a comprehensive collection, Delaware state maps, maps of the Middle Atlantic region, and charts of Delaware Bay make up the most extensive part of the collection.

Digital Collections

  Historic Maps of Delaware & the Mid-Atlantic Region
Maps of the 17th-20th centuries, incuding transportation, regional, municipal, manuscript, and historical maps; and nautical charts of Delaware Bay

Highlights from the manuscript collection

Click on the link to view the full finding aid.

MSS 107 The Christopher Ward Papers

Read abstract. . .

 

MSS 325 World War II Maps and Radio Broadcasts

Read abstract . . .

 

MSS 377 Wilbur T. Wilson Map Collection

Read abstract . . .

 

MSS 400 Pearl Herlihy Daniels Map Collection Papers

Read abstract . . .

Highlights from the print collection

The North American atlas: selected from the most authentic maps, charts, plans, &c. hitherto published. London: Printed for William Faden ..., 1776[-1780]

Raynal, abbé (Guillaume-Thomas-François). Histoire philosophique et politique des établissemens et du commerce des Européens dans les deux Indes. Geneve, chez J.-L. Pellet, imprimeur, 1781.


Moll, Herman. Atlas minor: or a set of sixty-two new and correct maps, of all parts of the world. All composed and done by Herman Moll, geographer. London, Printed for Thomas Bowles, and John Bowles [1732?]

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.