Skip to main content

History and Delawareana in Special Collections: University of Delaware

From the collection

Ward, Christopher. Delaware tercentenary almanack & historical repository, 1938.[Wilmington]: Delaware Tercentenary Commission, [1938].

Select bibliographies

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to University of Delaware. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on the University of Delaware held in Special Collections.

University Archives

Official records of the University of Delaware reside with the University Archives, which is charged with documenting the history of the institution.

Located at 002 Pearson Hall, the University Archives is open to the public. For additional information please contact the Archives at (302) 831-2750 or visit their website.

Related subject guides

About the collection

The Delaware Collection includes a vast amount of printed resources and information about the University of Delaware. Information relating to the University's history, students, faculty, and campus activities dates from its inception to the present day, though records available in Special Collections document some phases of University development better than others. Manuscript collections give the best representation of the University of Delaware in the twentieth century, while print collections cover a wider range of periods.

Digital Collections

  Blue & Gold Yearbooks
The Blue and Gold Yearbooks collection gathers together the yearbooks of the Women’s College of Delaware. Founded in 1914, the Women’s College and its coordinate men’s institution, Delaware College, together became the University of Delaware in 1921. With the establishment of co-education at the University in 1945, the Women’s College ceased to exist.
  Blue Hen Yearbooks
Student produced yearbooks for the University of Delaware.

Suggested searches

To locate materials in the print collection including books, periodicals, and some printed ephemera, search DELCAT by location in the  Advanced Search option and limit your search to “Special Collections.”

The following subject headings will aid in searching for University of Delaware-related items in DELCAT:

  • Delaware College
  • Newark Academy Del
  • Newark College
  • University of Delaware
  • University of Delaware--Alumni and alumnae
  • University of Delaware--History
  • University of Delaware. Womens College
  • Women's College of Delaware--History.

Highlights from the print collection

A brief history of the University of Delaware. Newark, Del.: University of Delaware, 1940. LOCATION: Special Collections - Delaware LD1483 .A5x 1940

Hoffecker, Carol E. Beneath thy guiding hand: a history of women at the University of Delaware. Newark, Del.: University of Delaware, c1994. LOCATION: Morris Library - LD1483 .H64x 1994


Munroe, John A. The University of Delaware: a history. Newark, Del.: University of Delaware, 1986. LOCATION: Morris Library - LD1483 .M86 1986

Highlights from the manuscript collection

MSS 179 Delaware Oral History, 1966-1978, 294 tapes (188 transcripts)

Read abstract . . .

 

MSS 328 David M. Nelson papers, 1936-1991 (bulk dates 1951-1991), 42 linear ft.

Read abstract . . . 

 

MSS 343 John Shirley papers related to Thomas Harriot, circa 1590-1621 and 1947-1988, 22 linear ft.

Read abstract . . .

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.