Skip to main content

History and Delawareana in Special Collections: Philadelphia

From the collection

Select bibliographies

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to Philadelphia. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on Philadelphia held in Special Collections.

Related subject guides

About the collection

The University of Delaware Library also holds a wealth of manuscript and archival resources in history. In addition to the holdings described in the Delaware Collection, Special Collections holds over two hundred collections of family and business papers which are especially strong for the Philadelphia area. A collection of several hundred diaries, scrapbooks, ships logs, account books, and ledgers maintained by individuals and businesses provides an opportunity for scholars to explore a widely diverse range of primary resources.

Highlights from the manuscript collection

MSS 129 John Frederick Lewis papers, 1860-1932, 1882 - 1932 (bulk dates 1909 - 1928); 4.6 linear feet and 75 volumes.

Read abstract. . .

 

MSS 327 Biddle family papers, 1766-1943 (bulk dates 1870-1927); 8 linear feet.

Read abstract. . .

 

MSS 562 Helen Farr Sloan Philadelphia Inquirer notebooks, 1886-1896; 5.3 linear feet.

Read abstract. . .

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.