Skip to main content

Primary Sources for Literature in Special Collections: British Literature

From the collection

Shakespeare, William. Mr. William Shakespeares comedies, histories, and tragedies / published according to the true originall copies. London: Printed by Tho. Cotes, for John Smethwick, and are to be sold at his shop in Saint Dunstans Church-yard, 1632.

About the collection

Special Collections's holdings in English literature are concentrated for the century 1750 to 1850 with strengths in Romantic poetry and prose. Comprehensive printed collections include Rudyard Kipling, John Galsworthy, the Hogarth Press, Aldous Huxley, and George Orwell.

Visual material

In addition to manuscript and archival collections, Special Collections also holds a variety of visual materials, including photographs, etchings, artwork, and graphical ephemera such as book jackets and posters, as well as other related materials such as cartes-de-visite.

Prints, Photographs and Images (PPI)

Graphics collections (GRA)


MSS 269 GRA 112 Victorian Paperback Covers, 1938 - 2001

Read abstract . . .

 

Select bibliographies

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to British literature. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on British literature, literary figures, and topics related to British literature held in Special Collections.

Mark Samuels Lasner collection

The Mark Samuels Lasner Collection  focuses on British literature and art of the period 1850 to 1900, with an emphasis on the Pre-Raphaelites and on the writers and illustrators of the 1890s. Its holdings comprise 7,000 first and other editions (including many signed and association copies), manuscripts, letters, works on paper, and ephemera.

Please note that materials in the Mark Samuels Lasner Collection are not listed in DELCAT.

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.