Skip to main content

Primary Sources for Literature in Special Collections: Science Fiction

From the collection

Isaac Asimov. I, Robot. New York: Gnome Press, 1950.

About the collection

Special Collections's holdings in science fiction include thousands of books in hardcover and paperback from the 1920s through the 1950s as well as several thousand magazine issues from hundreds of different titles featuring science fiction and pulp literature. In addition, the library holds comprehensive collections of the works of Edgar Rice Burroughs and of the African American science fiction writer Samuel Delany. The library’s holdings also include many works of science fiction and it’s progenitors from the nineteenth century and earlier.

Suggested searches

To locate materials in the print collection including books, periodicals, and some printed ephemera, search DELCAT by location in the  Advanced Search option and limit your search to “Special Collections.”

Please note that the Roland Bounds Science Fiction Collection, which consists of over 7,000 paperback books and several hundred issues of periodicals, is not cataloged in DELCAT and can only be accessed through the collection finding aids. These materials are listed in the finding aids for MSS 553 (Paperback Book Collection), MSS 504 (Periodical Collection) and MSS 494 (Papers and Ephemera).

 

Roland Bound Science Fiction collection

The Roland Bounds Science Fiction Collection added 30,000 books and magazines to the Library's collections. You can identify over 800 titles in the collection by using “Roland Bounds Science Fiction Collection” as a DELCAT search term; they are also cataloged in their entirety in the manuscript collection finding aids, where they are indexed by author, title and publisher.

MSS494 Roland E. Bounds science fiction collection: papers and emphemera

Read abstract . . .

 

MSS553 Roland E. Bounds science fiction paperback book collection

Read abstract . . .

 

MSS504 Roland E. Bounds science fiction periodical collection

Read abstract . . .

Highlights from the manuscript collection

MSS618 Samuel R. Delany collection

Read abstract . . .

 

MSS559 Merritt Burke III pulp paperback book collection

Read abstract . . .

Select bibliographies

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to science fiction. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on science fiction and science fiction publishing held in Special Collections.

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.

Close This