Skip to main content

Primary Sources for Literature in Special Collections: Women Writers

About the collection

Special Collections's holdings in materials by and about women authors span from the nineteenth century to the present and includes strong representation of American, British and Irish women authors, such as Kay Boyle, Emily Holmes Coleman, Alice Dunbar-Nelson, and Lady Gregory.

Highlights from the manuscript collection

MSS 99 F252 Sara Teasdale Letters to Orrick Johns, 1909-1914, 44 items.

Read abstract. . .

 

MSS 105 Emily Holmes Coleman Papers, 1852-1988 (bulk dates 1930-1970), 50 linear ft.

Read abstract. . .

 

MSS 114 Elva de Pue Matthews Papers, 1917-1962 (bulk dates 1917-1949), 2 linear ft.

Read abstract. . .

 

MSS 131 Kay Boyle Papers, 1930-1991 (bulk dates 1960-1986), 6 linear ft.

Read abstract. . .

Select bibliographies

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to women writers. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials by and about women authors held in Special Collections.

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.