Skip to main content

Primary Sources in The Arts in Special Collections: Performing Arts

From the collection

Print of Karsh’s 1956 portrait of American playwright Tennessee Williams (1911–1983) signed by Williams.

Related subject guides


Film Studies

Primary Sources

Biographical Information

About the collection

The traditional performing arts – dance, music, and theater – are well represented in Special Collections' print holdings and manuscript and archival collections. A number of primary collections focusing on institutions, organizations, and individuals involved with these arts are housed in Special Collections. In accordance with the Library's collection strengths in twentieth-century American literature, our holdings include the works of such noted playwrights as Tennessee William.

Visual material

In addition to manuscript and archival collections, Special Collections also holds a variety of visual materials, including photographs, etchings, artwork, and graphical ephemera such as book jackets and posters, as well as other related materials such as cartes-de-visite.

Prints, Photographs and Images (PPI)

Graphics collections (GRA)

Select bibliographies

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to theater and drama. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on drama, playwrights and theater held in Special Collections.

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.

Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.

Close This