Skip to main content

Primary Sources in The Arts in Special Collections: Decorative Arts

From the collection

A Girl's Room; with Plans and Designs for Work Upstairs and Down and Entertainments for Herself and Friends. Boston: D. Lothrop, 1886.

About the collection

The decorative arts collection is especially strong in furniture design. Special Collections also holds a large collection of trade catalogs for furniture, hardware, and decorative items from the eighteenth to the twentieth centuries.

Suggested searches

To locate materials in the print collection including books, periodicals, and some printed ephemera, search DELCAT by location in the  Advanced Search option and limit your search to “Special Collections.”

 

Material on design can be found in several subject areas, each with different library call numbers. Selected subject searches for DELCAT inlcude the following:

  • interior design
  • architecture, domestic
  • decoration and ornament
  • home economics
  • furniture--history

Select bibliographies

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to ithe decorative arts. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on the decorative arts held in Special Collections.

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.