Skip to main content

ENGL110 class page: Databases

Where do I start?

To do a comprehensive search for magazine and journal articles, turn to the library databases.

Still need more databases?

Librarians create research guides like this one to direct you to databases that organize articles according to subject.  If you have tried the databases for getting started and the subject-specific databases listed here, but still are not finding what you need, try choosing a guide that fits your subject area by visiting the Research Guides page.  Here are a few research guides that might help:

Databases for Getting Started

Here is a selection of databases that contain articles on a variety of subjects, which can be good starting points for your research:

Academic OneFile helps you to find scholarly articles as well as magazine articles on many different subjects.

  • Searches through over 8,000 journals
  • Includes many full-text articles with GET IT links
  • Allows you to limit to articles from trustworthy, peer-reviewed journals

CQ Researcher is a great place to start if you are looking for materials related to politics.  CQ Researcher includes reports and an "Issue Tracker" for various topics.

AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive is an important source for images, multimedia files, audio files and advertisements.  It is updated daily, making it easy to find current images.

LexisNexis Academic is the Library's largest news database.  It contains the full-text of the New York Times, the Washington Post, and many other U.S. and international news publications.

Subject Specific Databases

These are some of the subject-specific databases that can be used in addition to Academic OneFile to find scholarly articles on your topic.

Ask the Library