Current Workshops: Home

Workshops currently offered by the library

Workshop Quick Links

For More Information

Please email us should you have any questions about the workshops.  For additional information about how to learn more about library resources please consult the pages below.

Campus Workshops

For information on workshops offered by other campus units, please visit the LearnIT@UD calendar:

Orientation to Film and Video Collection

The Film and Video Collection of the University of Delaware Library will offer UD students, faculty, and staff an hour-long overview of film and video resources and services available for classroom instructional support and research. The session will begin with a tour of the Film and Video facilities which include viewing carrels, a Viewing Room, and a Media Research Room. Participants will be shown how to search the collection in DELCAT Discovery, how to access streaming video databases, and will be given an online tour of the Film and Video website.

Class is limited to eight participants; registration is required. Please email mtwchk@udel.edu to set up a consultation if class is full.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Location: Film and Video Collection Viewing Room, lower level, Morris Library

Presenter: Meghann Matwichuk, associate librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Introduction to RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool used to import and organize citations and generate bibliographies or reference lists. This workshop introduces the basic functions of RefWorks. Topics covered include setting up an account, understanding the user interface, exporting citations from research databases, creating folders, organizing citations, storing full-text articles within RefWorks, and creating a bibliography or reference list. RefWorks is available from the Library Databases page.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Location:Library Instruction Room (Rm. 116A), Reference Room, Morris Library

Presenter: Dianna McKellar, librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

RefWorks: Beyond the Basics

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool used to create and manage references, export references from databases, and generate bibliographies or reference lists. This workshop introduces the advanced functions of RefWorks. Topics include exporting references from journal databases, organizing references, using the Write-N-Cite feature to insert in-text citations, and creating bibliographies or reference lists. RefWorks is available from the Library Databases page.

Previous attendance at an “Introduction to RefWorks” workshop is highly recommended.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the desired date below.

Location: Room 116A, Library Instruction Room, first floor, Morris Library

Presenters: William Simpson, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Rebecca Knight, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

 

 

Orientation to the Student Multimedia Design Center

Learn about the facility and services offered at the Student Multimedia Design Center, located in the lower level of the Morris Library. Open to all University of Delaware students, faculty, and staff.  Each orientation session will begin with an informative tour of the studios, classrooms, and general computing areas that comprise the Student Multimedia Design Center. Participants will learn about the multimedia services and other Library services offered by the Center. Participants will meet at the SMDC service desk at the start of each orientation.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the desired date below.

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center, lower level, Morris Library

Presenter: Student Multimedia Design Center Staff

Adobe Photoshop: The Basics

Adobe Photoshop is the Swiss army knife of multimedia applications. It is useful for a number of projects such as animation, photo editing, graphic design, web design, poster design, and much more. This workshop is for those with little or no experience with Photoshop who want to learn the basics. The workshop will cover how to: crop, resize, and combine images; use layers and layer masks; adjust curves, saturation, and color; and export for the web or print.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the desired date below.

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center Room A, lower level, Morris Library

Presenter: Nico Carver, assistant librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Adobe Premiere Pro: The Basics

Adobe Premiere Pro is a flexible but powerful video editing application that can be used on Windows or Mac. It is a key part of Adobe’s Creative Suite along with Photoshop, Illustrator, and After Effects.

This workshop will start at square one, and teach you everything you need to know to get started with this full-featured tool for completing polished video projects.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Wednesday, February 18, 2015, 2:30pm - 4:30pm

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center Room A, lower level, Morris Library

Presenter: John Stevenson, associate librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

iMovie: The Essentials

Building on a history of great video editing tools, Apple’s latest version of iMovie gives you more flexibility than ever before. With an all-new design and improved workflow, iMovie allows you to easily create HD movies and Hollywood-style trailers. This hands-on workshop will explore iMovie’s entire editing process from beginning to end.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center room B, lower level, Morris Library

To register, please click on the date you wish to attend.

Thursday, February 19, 2015, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Presenter: Nico Carver, assistant librarina, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Wednesday, February 25, 2015, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Presenter: Hannah Lee, senior assistant librarian,  Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Presenter: John Stevenson, associate librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Adobe Photoshop: Advanced Masking Techniques

This workshop will introduce participants to sophisticated workflows using Photoshop’s layer masks, quick masks, channels, and paths. These methods are used for a variety of both artistic and practical effects. This workshop will start at an advanced level; it is recommended that participants take some of our other Photoshop workshops first, or have considerate previous experience with Photoshop.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Thursday, March 5, 2015, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center room B, lower level, Morris Library

Presenter: Nico Carver, assistant librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Adobe Illustrator: The Basics

Adobe Illustrator is a very popular and robust program for those interested in graphic design.  Since the art produced in Illustrator is vector-based, it is perfect for logos, typography, and digital illustration. This workshop is for those with little or no experience with Illustrator who want to learn the basics.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Thursday, March 12, 2015, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center room B, lower level, Morris Library

Presenter: Nico Carver, assistant librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Getting Started with ArcGIS Online

Wondering how to make the world excited about data you've collected? For those whose data has a geographic component, maps are the answer. This introductory workshop will teach participants how to make a map online, add data, and style it to make it interesting to others. Cloud-based ArcGIS Online makes it easy to add one's data to a map and share it widely.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center Room A, lower level, Morris Library

Presenters: John Stevenson, associate librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

and Benjamin Mearns,  IT Resource Consul III, IT-Client Support & Services

The Power of HTML and CSS: an Introduction to Authoring Web Pages

Are you interested in creating a web page from scratch, but don't know where to start? This introductory workshop will allow participants to create their own web page written in HTML and styled with CSS. By the end of the workshop, participants will have uploaded a hand-typed webpage to their personal web space on the Copland web server, know how to make more web pages, and know where to find free, up-to-date resources on HTML and web design. The workshop is designed for complete beginners, but more advanced topics may be demonstrated for inspiration

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015, 1:30pm - 3:30pm

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center room B, lower level, Morris Library

Presenters: Nico Carver, assistant librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Audrey Hamelers, assistant librarian, and digital humanities and web services librarian, Library Information Technology User Support Department

Genealogy for Beginners

The Genealogy for Beginners workshop covers the basics for researchers who are just starting to work on their family histories. It presents an overview of the types of records that contain genealogical information as well as strategies for finding and recording this data. Learn how to search the online database Ancestry Library Edition for U.S. census records. Ancestry Library Edition is available from the Library Databases page [http://www2.lib.udel.edu/database/ancestry.html].

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty, staff, and members of the general public. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Thursday, April 9, 2015, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Location: Room 116A, Library Instruction Room, first floor, Morris Library

Presenters: Rebecca Knight, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

and Linda Stein, librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Teaching and Learning with Images: Introduction to ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This workshop will show participants how to search for images, create and manage image groups, and download images for use in presentations. ARTstor Commons, a free, open-access library of images will also be discussed. ARTstor is available from the Library Databases page [www2.lib.udel.edu/database/artstor.html]

The workshop is available at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty, and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Location: Room 116A, Library Instruction Room, first floor, Morris Library

Presenters: Susan Davi, associate librarian, head, Collection Development Department

and Derek Churchill, director, Visual Resources, Art History Department

Research Funding Online

The workshop will focus on three Library databases--Foundation Directory Online, Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, and COS Pivot--which faculty, students and staff can use to identify potential funding resources, such as grants from private foundations, corporations and government agencies. The workshop will cover strategies for searching the databases, procedures for using alerting services, and locating additional grant information on the Internet. This workshop is co-sponsored by the University of Delaware Research Office.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited, and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

Thursday, April 16, 2015, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Location: Room 116A, Library Instruction Room, first floor, Morris Library

Presenters: Carol Rudisell, librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Michael Gutierrez, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Understanding you Camera: Digital Photography Basics

Would you like to take more professional-looking photos with your digital camera? At this workshop, we will explain how to use lighting, composition, and the camera’s manual settings to produce impressive results no matter what camera you are using. Bring your personal camera or check one out from the Student Multimedia Design Center service desk before the workshop to apply the techniques covered in this session.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Wednesday, April 22, 2015, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center room B, lower level, Morris Library

Presenter: Hannah Lee, senior assistant librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Introduction to Typography and Design

This workshop will introduce participants to some basic principals in design, typography, and information graphics. The goal is to assist those who create brochures, handouts, posters, and web graphics in creating beautiful documents that are effective at combining text with graphical elements. Participants will practice with Adobe Photoshop and Adobe InDesign to accomplish these tasks. Prior experience with the software is not required, but would be helpful. Participants are encouraged to bring projects to work on at the workshop, but example files will also be available.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015, 1:30pm - 3:30pm

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center room B, lower level, Morris Library

Presenters: Hannah Lee, senior assistant librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Nico Carver, assistant librarian, Multimedia Collections and Services Department

Grants for Nonprofit Agencies

Grants for Nonprofit Agencies will focus on three Library databases--Foundation Directory Online, Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, and COS Pivot— that administrators of nonprofit agencies can use to identify sources for grant funding. The online directory includes detailed information on funders such as private foundations, corporations and public charities. The workshop will cover strategies for searching the databases, and locating additional grant information on the Internet. This workshop is co-sponsored by the University of Delaware Research Office.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty, staff and members of nonprofit agencies. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Location: University of Delaware Library Class of 1941 Lecture Room, first floor, Morris Library

Presenter: Carol Rudisell

Tracing Your Family's WWI Military History

Did your ancestors serve in the First World War? Learn about their involvement in this global conflict by investigating online collections of draft registration cards, awards and casualty lists, and other military service records. The workshop presents strategies for searching Ancestry Library Edition’s U.S. Military Collection and websites for historical background, locations of grave sites overseas, and other useful information. The workshop introduces historical newspaper databases and methods for finding articles on WWI battles and the events that shaped the times.

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty, staff and member of the public. Seating is limited and registration is required. For further information, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call 302-831-2432.

To register, please click on the date below.

Thursday, May 14, 2015, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Location: Room 116A, Library Instruction Room, first floor, Morris Library

Presenters: Rebecca Knight, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Linda Stein, librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Email: