Skip to main content

International Students and Scholars: Reference Services

Research Assistance and Help

All materials in the University of Delaware Library are available to every person to use including books, videos, CD-ROMs, computers, magazines and newspapers. Everyone in the Library is here to help--all one has to do is ask!

Four Libraries

The University of Delaware Library includes the Morris Library where the main collection is housed, two branch libraries located in Newark, Delaware, and a third branch library located in Lewes, Delaware.

  • The Morris Library, the main library, is centrally located on the South Green of the University of Delaware campus.
  • The Chemistry Library is in Room 202 of Brown Laboratory on the Central Campus of the University of Delaware in Newark, Delaware.
  • The Physics Library is in Room 2221 of Sharp Laboratory on the Central Campus of the University of Delaware in Newark, Delaware.
  • The Marine Studies Library is in Cannon Laboratory in Lewes, Delaware, approximately 90 miles south of the Newark campus.

Reference Services

The Reference staff comprises professional librarians with broad experience and with backgrounds in their subject areas. Each subject specialist has designed a subject guide to help researchers with research in their particular subject area. Reference staff are available at the Reference Desk or online to assist Library users. A full list of research guides can be found here.

For questions about finding information, using a computer database, or operating a copy machine, Library users are invited to ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

All Library users may contact the Reference Desk for assistance in a number of different ways--in person, by telephone, live chat, email or instant messages. The service desk phone number is 302-831-2965. The Ask a Librarian service can be found here.

Research Resources

Library Catalog

DELCAT Discovery provides one-stop search access to over 220 million items from UD Libraries and libraries worldwide as well as more than 530 million references to journal articles.

Databases

The University of Delaware Library subscribes to more than 360 licensed databases. Some databases are general in nature and provide information from many disciplines, and others are subject specific. Some of the databases are "full text" and include entire articles and some databases include citations and summaries.

Electronic Journals and Newspapers

Electronic journals and electronic newspapers provided by the University of Delaware Library allow searching or reading articles online.

Contact Librarian

Pauly Iheanacho, Ed.D.'s picture
Pauly Iheanacho, Ed.D.
Contact:
Librarian
(302) 831-6946

Ask the Library