Skip to main content

Writing with Microsoft Word and RefWorks: Writing with Microsoft Word and RefWorks Using APA

A guide to writing using RefWorks and Microsoft Word in APA style.

RefWorks Video Tutorials

RefWorks has an excellent series of tutorials on its YouTube page.

Start with Learn to use RefWorks in 20 minutes. This is a group of 10 short videos that (you guessed it) only takes twenty minutes to watch. Numbers 8 and 9 are only applicable if you have Microsoft Word 2016 or higher.

Additionally there are other videos going into more depth on topics or covering additional features.

Caution: if you are looking at the related videos list, be sure you select videos about New RefWorks, not Legacy RefWorks.

New RefWorks
Legacy RefWorks

APA Changes How to Format a DOI in a Reference

Change in Display of DOI in APA Style

APA experts have decided that there are 3 correct ways to format a DOI in a reference:

1. https://doi.org/10.1037/arc0000014 (preferred) (with or without active link)

2. http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/arc0000014 (not recommended)

3. doi:10.1037/arc0000014 (as shown in the Manual)

Decide which format you will use and use it consistently.

Temporary(?) Glitch in RefWorks

There is a temporary(?) RefWorks problem in formatting the DOIs in references when using APA style.

RefWorks has decided to change to the new style recommended by the APA experts. However, it is not doing it correctly!  (not the preferred option or the option as shown in the Manual).

Workaround for Temporary(?) Glitch in RefWorks

The doi preceded by the protocol https:// and the domain name doi.org/

The DOI (link) should be formatted as:

https://doi.org/10.1177/1362361315607724

 

The Problems

When the Reference list is created in MS Word,

RefWorks

removes the https:

displays unnecessary URL from the database

displays unnecessary “Retrieved from” statement

In Edit mode in RefWorks:

Edit the URL field

Delete any information in the URL field

Edit the DOI field

1. If the field reads //dx.doi.org change it to //doi.org

Note: if you add the full prefix " https://doi.org/" RefWorks will delete the https:

 

 

2. If the field only contains the DOI, add //doi.org/ in front.

Note: if you add the full prefix " https://doi.org/" RefWorks will delete the https:

 

You will need to add the https: later

Creating the bibliography in MS Word:

When you finish writing and create the bibliography for the final time*: add: https: in front of the double slash

 

* it must be the final "create bibliography" because every time the bibliography is created, anything added to the document in the gray highlighted areas (i.e., RefWorks codes) will be reset.

Final version after editing:

The opportunity:

The new APA formatting option says that the DOI can be a live (active) if you want it to be.

This method is less typing than either of the other options!

 

The problem:

To create an active link, you need to use the URL field; not the DOI field.

RefWorks inserts the label "Retrieved from" in front of any information in the URL field in your Word document.

You will need to delete the "Retrieved from" from each reference. You can do this using the Find and Replace option in MS Word.

In Edit mode in RefWorks:

Edit the DOI field

Delete the information in the DOI field

Edit the URL field

Paste the DOI  into the URL field, with prefix https://doi.org/

Before

 

After

Creating the Bibliography in MS Word:

When you finish writing and create the bibliography for the final time* you will need to delete the phrase:

Retrieved from

 

* it must be the final "create bibliography" because every time the bibliography is created, anything added to the document in the gray highlighted areas (i.e., RefWorks codes) will be reset.

Editing the Word document

Select the "Replace" option in the editing section of the toolbar

 

Type Retrieved from in the Find what box. Leave the Replace with box empty. Select: Replace All

Final version after editing:

Doi with field name doi

The DOI should be formatted as:

doi:10.1177/1362361315607724

Note: this format is recommended in the Manual.

 

The Problems

When Reference list is created in MS Word, RefWorks

does not display the field label doi in front of the DOI

displays unnecessary URL from database

displays unnecessary “Retrieved from” statement

 

In Edit Mode in RefWorks:

Edit the URL Field

Delete any information in the URL field

Edit the DOI Field

The field should have only the doi (begins with the number 10)

Creating the Bibliography in MS Word:

RefWorks does not insert the field label in front of the DOI. You will need to type/paste this before the DOI

doi:

Final version after editing:

Loading ...

Subject Librarian

Rebecca Knight's picture
Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H

Subjects: U.S. Government Information,
Delaware, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

What Do APA In-text Citations Look Like?

For information about APA rules on in-text citations and references, see the resources on this guide:

Final Step

If submitting your paper electronically, remove the RefWorks/Write-N-Cite field codes. Be sure to save a copy of your document with the codes so you will be able to edit the paper later.

Select: Remove Field Codes from the top menu of the RefWorks tab in Microsoft Word.

RefWorks