This is the "Home" page of the "Finding Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Articles  

Last Updated: Jun 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/findarticles Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles in the Library

Step One:  Choose a Database to Help You Search for Articles

Databases are the starting place for finding magazine and journal articles on the subjects you are researching. More than 350 databases are available from computers in the Morris Library and can also be accessed from your dorm or from home if you are a student, faculty, or staff member. Some databases cover general topics; others are specialized and cover one subject area in great depth.  Each database indexes different journals in which the articles are published. 

If you already know the name of the database you would like to search, you can get to the database directly by searching for the database by name on the Library home page.

If you do not know what database to start with, head to the Research Guides page and select a subject that corresponds to your research topic.  The guide for the subject you choose will direct you to the best databases for that subject. 

Step Two:  Search for Articles within the Database

Identify important search terms and concepts. Make a list of key search terms that relate to your topic. Some databases have a thesaurus within the database which will help you identify related and synonymous terms.

Enter search terms and combine them for more effective searching. While databases vary, most of them allow you to use operators AND , OR, and NOT to combine terms. Examples:

Earthquakes AND Japan    (retrieves items containing both terms)
measles OR rubella    (retrieves items containing either term)
computers NOT tablets    (allows a search to exclude a term)
(anorexia OR bulimia) AND teenagers    (retrieves items containing either of the first terms and the last term)

Step Three:   Review your search results

Excellent key words to use in subsequent searches can be found in the article's abstract and descriptor fields.  Using these discovered terms in your search will often improve your results.

 

Using Get It!

Sometimes databases will contain links to electronic copies of full articles.  These are known as "full text" articles.  Get it! is a system that helps researchers quickly connect to full text articles when searching online.

Get It! searches though the library's database and journal subscriptions to connect researchers to the full text of the desired article. When searching in a database that is Get It! -enabled, you will see a small link or button labeled Get It! beneath the article records that are returned by the database.  Clicking Get It! will either bring you directly to the article, or will provide the following options:

Clicking on GET ARTICLE will bring you to a copy of the article, while the GO TO JOURNAL option will bring you to the journal's home page.

If Get it! cannot locate a full-text copy of the article or an electronic subscription to the journal that published the article, you will see the following:

The best next step is to use the link to DELCAT Discovery to search for the journal by title or ISSN to determine if we have this journal in print in the library for the year in which your article was published.  If you have searched DELCAT Discovery and find that we don't have the journal containing your article, you can use the link to interlibrary loan to request that the article be delivered to you from another library.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Meg Grotti
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Senior Assistant Librarian & Coordinator, Library Instruction
Ph: (302)831-6310
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 
  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip