Related UD Library Research Guides
- Delaware Biography
- Delaware History
- Delaware Local Histories
- Genealogical Resources at the University of Delaware Library (Quick Guide)

- Social Life and Customs (Delaware History)
- Historic Structures in Delaware by Carol Rudisell
- Genealogy (blog)University of Delaware Library blog about Genealogy. See the opening page: Genealogy for Beginners and the other subjects on the right hand menu.
Guides to Genealogy
Guides to genealogical research.
- The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy
- Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources
- FamilySearch Research WikiResearch guides on various topics and countries. See the Delaware guide.
- Ancestry.com Family History WikiResearch guides on various topics and countries. See the Delaware Family History Research guide (from the Red Book).
- Delaware Genealogical Research Guide (Delaware Genealogical Society) An important guide for locating primary sources or conducting historical and genealogical research in Delaware. Published by the Delaware Genealogical Society. It covers specific types of records and where they can be found in the state. Includes maps of Hundreds, list of hundreds, and a map of the Delaware Divide. The guides describes unique resources available at various sites. Examples:
- Tatnall Tombstone collection and index at the Delaware Public Archives (DPA)
- "Family Surname File" at the Delaware Historical Society (HSD)
- "Delaware Index" at the Wilmington Public Library
- Free Research Guides (Ancestry Learning Center)Includes guides for various ethnic groups.
- Start Your Genealogy Research (National Archives)
- Delaware Genealogy: A Guide to Research in the Delaware Historical Society Library
- Delaware Public Archives (DPA)Browse the "Finding Aids" list and search the Online Guide to the Collections.
Search example: world war ii
From Off Campus
Learning More
- Library Workshops for Current SemesterThe UD Library offers genealogy workshops that are open to the general public. Typically two of these are scheduled per semester.
1) Genealogy for Beginners
2) An advanced workshop on a specific topic. Recent topics include historical newspapers, immigration and ship passenger lists, and church/cemetery records. - Non-Genealogical Resources for Genealogists

Genealogical Research at the University of Delaware Library
|
The collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogical and historical researchers. Formats may be online, print, microform, manuscript and include family genealogies, local histories, vital statistics, wills or deeds, military records, census information, and publications of genealogical societies and state historical societies. Library collections are particularly strong for Delaware and surrounding areas. |
![]() |
Interlibrary Loan at UD
What do you do when you find out about a book or article and it is not available at your library?
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan is a resource sharing system. Books or other materials may be borrowed. Articles from magazines or journals may be sent electronically
ILL is a cooperative service and operates from library to library. Individuals need to contact their local library to use the service.
Affiliated with University of Delaware
People affiliated with the University of Delaware can use Interlibrary Loan through the UD Library.
Instructions are available on the Interlibrary Loan webpage. You will need to create your own account to use the service.
Not Affiliated with University of Delaware
People who are not affiliated with the University can use the service at a public library.
What Can Be Borrowed?
- Books
- Microfilm (example: newspapers)
Books and microfilm are sent through the mail. Remember to allow time for this.
What Can Be Sent Electronically? (Copies of Pages)
- Articles from magazines and journals.
- Articles from newspapers -- if you have the date or page number and if the library that owns it offers this service.
What Cannot Be Borrowed or Copied?
The libraries that own the items decide if the item is too rare, valuable, or fragile to loan or to photocopy.
Identifying Books in Other Libraries
The WorldCat Local and WorldCat databases search the collections of libraries around the world. Both versions are available free on the Internet. The difference in the two versions is that the WorldCat Local version lists items held at the UD Library prominently.
- WorldCat Local (available from the UD Library home page)
- WorldCatEspecially useful for researchers who are not in Delaware.
Interlibrary Loan for People not Affiliated with UD
People not affiliated with UD can use the service at a public library.
Note: having a UD library borrowing card is not the same as being affiliated with UD.
Locations of Genealogical Materials in the Morris Library
Most genealogical materials are located in the following areas:
Main Collection
Arranged by Library of Congress call numbers.
Most of the titles have call numbers shelved on the Third Floor in these call number areas:
- CS (Genealogy)
- E (United States History)
- F (United States Local History)

Reference Collection (First Floor)
Contains indexes, guides, historical atlases, and directories. Publications of interest include Union List of Newspapers in Delaware (Reference desk Z6952 .D3 U54 1990), Directory of Historical Organizations in the United States and Canada (Ref E172 .A538), and The Value of a Dollar... (Ref HB235.U6 V35). Materials in the Reference Collection cannot be checked out.
Special Collections (Second Floor)
Contains rare books, manuscripts, maps, and local history materials. Special Collections includes the Delaware Collection which has materials relating to the history, culture, business, and social aspects of Delaware. Books and other published materials are listed in DELCAT and WorldCat Local. Manuscripts, letters, etc., are listed in the Special Collections online finding aids. Due to the rare nature of the materials, researchers must register and follow the departmental policies and procedures. Special Collections is not open on weekends or on most evenings. Materials must be used in the Special Collections Department.
The Microforms Collection (Lower Level, part of the Student Multimedia Design Center)
Contains most of the Library materials in special formats, including microfilm, microfiche, and CD-ROM. DELCAT and WorldCat Local list most of the microform materials.
U.S. Documents Collection (Lower Level and Library Annex)
Has publications received from the federal government. The library has print copies of "Serial Set" on the Lower Level and has the Serial Set as an online full text database. The Serial Set contains Congressional reports and documents, such as "petitions for relief" of veterans and their families. The collection also contains military histories, including The War of the Rebellion: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies (Library Annex U.S. Doc W 45.5:). Most of these materials are located in the Library Annex. Note: many publications in the U.S. Documents collection are not listed in DELCAT or WorldCat Local. Ask at the Reference/Information Desk for assistance.
Map Collection (Lower Level)
Has a large number of maps published by various agencies and publishers. Ask at the Student Multimedia Design Center Desk for assistance.
Library Annex
Is a storage area located on another part of campus. Annex materials may be retrieved and brought to the Morris Library. See the Library Annex Request Form for details.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Associate Librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department, (302) 831-1730 Send Email Address: Reference and Instructional Services Department, Room 117H University of Delaware Library 181 S. College Ave. Newark, DE 19717-5267 |
Recommendation for Library Purchase
The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.





Facebook
Loading...
