Related Guides
- African American History
- British Parliamentary Papers
- Historic Cooking Resources
- Historic Structures in Delaware
- History of Science and Technology
- Material Culture
- Primary Sources
- Women's Studies
- Latin American Studies
- Delaware History
- Delaware Historical Maps
- African Studies
- Asian Studies
- Jewish Studies
- Middle Eastern Studies
- Genealogy
- Newspapers
- Art History
- Congressional Information
- History and Delawareana in Special Collections
Featured Resource
The Illustrated London News (1842-2003) was the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper. Its coverage of society, the arts, culture, literature, and politics is remarkable. Read the essays on the ILN's website for an understanding of just how important this periodical was.
![]()
![]()
19th Century U.K. Periodicals includes more than 300 periodicals in Part 1: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour & Leisure/Sport and Part 2: Empire: Travel & Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial.
From Off Campus
Research in History at the University of Delaware Library
This guide collates information about the resources available at the University of Delaware Library for conducting historical research. It provides links to books, online databases, electronic journals, websites and other University of Delaware resources.
Click on the tabs above to explore various aspects of historical research. Other guides, listed on the left, focus on related disciplines or more narrow historical topics.
![]() |
General Resources: online and print reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks which can quickly introduce you to a concept. |
![]() |
Books/E-Books: search the Library's online catalog and electronic book collections to find material relating to history. |
![]() |
Databases/Articles: databases include articles published in the historical literature as well as full-text collections of primary resources. |
![]() |
E-Journals: electronic journals in history available in the University of Delaware Library. |
![]() |
Websites: Highly selective list of links to websites relating to the history of the United States and world history. |
![]() |
Campus Resources: other departments, programs, and centers on campus and publications relating to history |
![]() |
Archives/Primary Sources: information about archival repositories, libraries, and collections of primary sources. |
![]() |
Images: links to collections of images for historical research |
![]() |
Regional Resources: information about institutions relating to history in Delaware, Pennsylvnia, and Maryland. |
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask a Librarian
Writing Tools
Need to Create a Bibliography?
Use RefWorks to save citations and create a bibliography and footnotes in seconds!
Recommendation for Library Purchase
The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.











Facebook
Loading...
