Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.
Digitized images of issues of newspapers including American and Commercial Daily Advertiser, Baltimore Whig, Cambridge Chronicle, Cecil Whig, Centreville Observer, Ellicott City Times, Kent County News, Maryland Gazette, Maryland Journal, and Maryland Republican.
Digital newspaper collection covering 1836-1922. Newspapers from California, the District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia are available. More newspapers are being added. Also has a directory of American newspapers published between 1690-present. From the Library of Congress.
Current and historical images from the Associated Press digital image archive. The historical collection features historical figures, political leaders, sports greats, and celebrities. The Photo Archive also offers images from significant news and features events of the 20th century.
Related Research Guide
There are better sources than wikipedia and Google searching to find background information and overviews of a person, and event, or a time period.
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment “Library 2000” Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
Newspapers are rich resources. They provide a glimpse of a community, cover major and minor events, provide information on people, contain listings of births, deaths, land transfers, and more.
Many newspapers are available on the Internet. Some are individual papers and some are in collections. Full text does not mean the actual articles as they were published. Many electronically available newspapers are text only, no pictures, no ads, etc. Others are digital page images.
Provides full text (text only) of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from the United States and from international news sources. Major papers include New York Times (Jun 1, 1980- ), Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Times (London), and Philadelphia Inquirer (1983- ). Coverage also includes U.S. local and regional news. Years of coverage vary by newspaper.
Access to 87 local and regional U.S. newspapers published by the Gannett Company, a leading news publisher. The newspapers are available in full text (text only) and include all articles of substance written by staff writers, death notices, birth notices, editorials, reviews, letters to the editor, and selected online content.
Includes the News Journal (Wilmington) from 1999 to the present.
An online news service that covers non-U.S. media sources. Sources include English-language information and translations of non-English-language information. Content includes newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Covers 1996 to present.
Digital image collection of hundreds of historic newspapers. Coverage is 1690s-1922; issues available vary by title. Can search the entire collection or limit to a publication.
Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.
Includes some Delaware papers: Advance, American Watchman, Delaware and Eastern-Shore Advertiser, Delaware Gazette, Delaware Patriot, Delaware State Reporter, Delaware Statesman, Mirror of the Times, Monitor, or Wilmington Weekly Repository, and Peninsular News and Advertiser.
Also includes: the Pennsylvania Gazette 1736-1745 (colonial Delaware was part of Pennsylvania) and the Philadelphia Inquirer 1860-1922.
Full text of articles in historical newspapers and magazines. Includes these collections: African American Newspapers: The 19th Century and The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective. Also includes individual newspapers, such as, The Pennsylvania Gazette. Some sources are text and some are digital images.
Access to digital images of historical newspaper and periodical articles. The collections cover 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers 19th Century British Library Newspapers 19th Century U.S. Newspapers 19th Century U.K. Periodicals Economist Historical Archive Illustrated London News Historical Archive Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) Times Literary Supplement Archive
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Includes Chicago Defender (1910-1975). Access through the New York Times database. On top left of page, the phrase section "Searching: 1 database" appears. Click the arrow next to that and select from the list: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
Digital images of more than 30 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century African newspapers. Titles are from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, and elsewhere. Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.
Digital images of more than 35 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Titles are from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.
Provides names and links to online sites for all the smaller newspapers in Delaware. Most papers provide access to current news only. Useful for identifying the names of newspapers, but most of the links are bad.