This is the "Home" page of the "Primary Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Primary Sources   Tags: archives, manuscripts, special collections  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/primarysources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

University of Delaware Library Digital Collections

 

Search DELCAT

Search DELCAT: The University of Delaware Library Catalog – Search for books, DVDs and more

Special Collections

The Special Collections Department in the Morris Library includes many primary sources. Consult with the staff to identify appropriate sources. Manuscript collections may not be in DELCAT.

 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.
 

What Are Primary Sources?

Primary sources are first-hand accounts of topics or events. They provide firsthand testimony or direct evidence.

Primary sources include diaries, speeches, letters, manuscripts, memoirs, autobiographies, records of governments or organizations, and published materials (books, journals, newspaper articles) written at the time of an event or issue. Primary sources may also include photographs, tape recordings, oral histories, and maps. In literature, an original work such as a novel, poem, short story or play is also considered to be a primary source.

Secondary sources are accounts of the past written after the event. They are often based on information found in primary sources. They interpret or analyze a particular event. Secondary sources include textbooks, encyclopedias, and literary criticism.

  • It is often a good idea to review the secondary literature first to gain an understanding of the key players and events associated with the topic.

  • Primary sources are much easier to find with specific names and events for searching.
 

Searching DELCAT

To search for primary source materials in DELCAT, the Library's online catalog, or in WorldCat Local, combine keywords or subject terms with additional terms that pertain to the type of material. Such terms include “correspondence,” “diaries,” “letters,” “manuscripts,” “papers,” “personal narratives,” and “sources.” Use the advanced search option to combine multiple criteria.

Examples:
  keywords   soldiers and diaries
  keywords   personal narratives and civil war and united states
  keywords   women AND world war 1939-1945 AND (sources OR letters OR diaries)
  subjects   Manuscripts, American--Facsimiles
  subjects   Manuscripts--Catalogs

Primary Sources on the Web

Many collections of primary materials relating to the history of the United States and other countries have been digitized and made available on the Internet.

 

Ask a Librarian

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip