New database: Statistical Abstract Online
Statistical Abstract has long been the authoritative resource for searching for statistics. Beginning with the 2013 edition, it is now available in database format.
The database is produced by the ProQuest company. It follows the format used by the Census Bureau and includes new functions.
The database is available off campus to all UD faculty, staff, and students.
Annex Request Form
The Library Annex is a remote storage area. Materials in the Annex can be brought to the Morris Library. The Library Annex Request Form is on the Library Web. Scroll to the bottom of the home page, and select "Forms" under the heading "Quick Links."
The first line of the form asks for a UD identification number. If you are not affiliated with UD, type multiple zeros.
Most of the U.S. Documents in print are located in the Library Annex.
If you cannot find a publication in DELCAT or WorldCat Local, you can request the item from the Library Annex -- but only if you have a SuDocs call number. It's a good idea to consult with a librarian before making this kind of request.
Electronic Resources From Off Campus
UD only. The UD Library subscribes to (licenses) electronic resources from publishers. These resources include databases and ejournals. From off campus these resources are available only to UD faculty, students, and staff. The databases are indicated by a blue "UD" symbol. Enter your UDelnet ID and password when accessing from off campus.
Freely accessible. Publications from the U.S. government are not copyrighted are available on the Internet.
The University of Delaware Library is a Federal Depository Library.
"A popular Government without popular information, or the means of acquiring it, is but as Prologue to a Farce or a Tragedy; or perhaps both. Knowledge will forever govern ignorance: And a people who mean to be their own Governors, must arm themselves with the power which knowledge gives."
– James Madison, "Letter to W. T. Barry" (August 4, 1822)
Federal Publishing and Libraries
The federal government is one of the world's largest publishers of statistical information and legal information, including state, local, national, and international data. In addition to legal and statistical information, government publications cover art, history, science, and many other areas. Most federal government publications published today are available on the Internet.
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) functions as a bridge between government agencies and the public. Government publications are sent to depository libraries free of charge and the libraries make the publications accessible to the public.
The University of Delaware Library is an officially designated Federal Depository Library (FDL) and has been a depository since 1897. The Depository number is 0087. The liaison to the Federal Library Depository Program (at the Government Printing Office) is John Stevenson. The government information subject specialist is Rebecca Knight.
|Liaison to Depository Program||Subject Specialist|
|John Stevenson, Associate Librarian
Coordinator, Government Documents and Maps Processing Unit
Student Multimedia Design Center
|Rebecca Knight, Associate Librarian
Currently, the Library selects about 51% of the publications included in the Federal Depository Library Program, most notably hearings published by the Senate and House Committees on which members of Delaware's Congressional delegation serve.
Usually called "Andriot" -- the name of the original editor.
The Call Numbers (SuDocs Classification)
U.S. documents are arranged by a call number system specifically designed for federal documents, called the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system.
The SuDocs call number system is based on the government agency which released the document. For example, a publication from the Department of Agriculture begins with an "A," such as A 1.114:92 and a publication from the Department of Education begins with the letters "ED," such as ED 1.209 Sp1.
Agencies or bureaus under departments have the letter or letters for that department (the "parent agency") and a number unique to the sub-agency or bureau. For example, "A 13" is the Forest Service and "A 93" is the Economic Research Service, both of which are agencies under the Department of Agriculture.
The next part of the call number identifies the series or type of publication. The remaining parts of the call number identify the individual publication.
The call numbers file alphabetically by letter and then in numerical order by the first group of numbers, then the next group, etc. All numbers are whole numbers. Unlike the Library of Congress call number system used in most of the rest of the library, THERE ARE NO DECIMALS.
Examples of SuDocs Call Numbers
First the letter or letters at the beginning.
Note: "Nothing comes before something."
|Then numerically by the number, stopping at the period.||C 2.2:207
|Then numerically by the whole number down to the next slash, period, or colon.||C 55.13:826
|If at any time after the first period you must choose between a number and a letter, letters go before numbers.||Y 4.Ec7/a:92
|Continue looking by the whole number or letter up to the next punctuation mark until the end of the call number.||Y 4.F49:92-47
Associate Librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department,
Reference and Instructional Services Department, Room 117H
University of Delaware Library
181 S. College Ave.
Newark, DE 19717-5267
Recommendation for Library Purchase
The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.
Ask a Librarian
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
Libraries across the country participate in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). The program's goal is to provide government information to the public (or DTTP, documents to the people). The program supplies government publications in electronic and tangible formats and provides continuing education for the dedicated librarians who assist the public.