This is the "Home" page of the "Horticulture Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Horticulture Administration   Tags: arboreta, botanical gardens, gardens, greenhouses, management, museum studies  

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/horticulture Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Campus Scene

On Campus

 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.

Related Pages

Museum Studies Subject Page has much additional information on management. Plant and Soil Science Page has material on plants and commercial horticulture.

 

Search WorldCat Local

Search Libraries worldwide, including DELCAT, for books, articles, DVDs and more

Advanced Search

Web Sites and Library Resources

  • Theses - The Longwood Graduate Program in Public Horticulture
    This research archive of theses by Longwood students covers the years 1970-2003.
  • World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Botany / Plant Biology (Biosciences)
    This page is part of the “Virtual Library” Series, very good browsing guides to specific subject areas within the Internet. This guide includes includes a list of Internet resources by topic; an extensive directory to a large archive of biological newsgroups and journal contents pages; links to other journals, biological software, and finding aids; and an extensive alphabetical listing of organizational sites.
  • APGA | American Public Gardens Association
    “Founded in 1940 as the American Association of Botanical Gardens and Arboreta (AABGA), the American Public Gardens Association (APGA) adopted a new name in 2006. Over the last six decades, the APGA has emerged as the premiere association for public gardens in North America. Today, APGA’s 500 member institutions are located in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Canada and seven other countries.”
  • Missouri Botanical Garden
    Includes gardening help, plants currently in bloom, and a horticultural research section. Information under “Opportunities,” lists jobs and internships.
  • Longwood Gardens
    Longwood Gardens’ site, with schedules, hours and listings of special events.
 

Finding Books

Using a Catalog to Look Up A Book

To find a book it is best to start by searching in one of our catalogs; either use DELCAT (for books, media, and journals held by the University of Delaware) or WorldCat Local (which indexes the UD collection as well as items held by libraries around the world.)

Searching DELCAT

You can search by key word, author, title, or subject in DELCAT.   Subjects can be very helpful in focusing a search.  The best way to find applicable subjects is to look in the subject headings listed in your results.  Below are a few examples of subject headings in the study of horticulture administration:

  • Arboretums
  • Museum Techniques
  • Horticultural Exhibitions
  • Public Spaces

Note that subject headings often have several additional qualifying subject headings, allowing for very specific description of what a title is about.

Be sure to click on the "Holdings" link within the item's record to see if the item is checked out of the library, and to locate the item's call number.  For more information about how to locate a book in the library using a call number, please see How To Read A Call Number.

Searching WorldCat Local

WorldCat Local is an exciting new kind of catalog system which combines items held by the University of Delaware Library and items held by libraries around the world.  Therefore, using this resource opens up many new collections for you to search.  WorldCat Local can be searched simply, as one might use an online search engine, and then results can be manipulated using facets such as author, format, date, or topic.  Many records in WorldCat local are linked to online previews of the items, making it easy to determine if the item is relevant for your needs.

 

Recommendation for Library Purchase

The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Fritz Getze
Contact Info
Associate Librarian
(302) 831-8892
fax (302) 831-1631
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip