This is the "Home" page of the "Current Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Workshops  

Workshops currently offered by the library
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/workshops Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Workshop Quick Links

  • Film & Video
    Learn about the resources and services available at the Film & Video Collection Department.
  • Genealogy
    Learn how to search the online databases that contain genealogical information as well as strategies for finding and recording this data.
  • Multimedia Workshops
    Learn about video editing tools, animation, digitizing older video formats and more!
  • RefWorks
    Learn how to organize your research and create bibliographies in seconds with RefWorks!
  • Research Funding
    Learn about new resources available to help grant seekers search for research funding.

For More Information

Please email us should you have any questions about the workshops.  For additional information about how to learn more about library resources please consult the pages below.

Campus Workshops

For information on workshops offered by other campus units, please visit the LearnIT@UD calendar:

 

Funding Sources for Graduate Students

The workshop will focus on two Library databases, Foundation Directory Online and COS Pivot, which graduate students can use to identify potential funding resources, such as grants from private foundations, corporations and government agencies. The workshop will cover strategies for searching the databases, procedures for using alerting services, and locating additional grant information  on the Internet. This workshop is co-sponsored by the University of Delaware Research Office

The workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD graduate students. Seating is limited,  and registration is required. 

Location: Room 116A, Morris Library, first floor. 

Presenters:   

Carol Rudisell, librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Michael Gutierrez, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department       

Register Online: 

Tuesday, April 22, 2014; 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.                                                                      

 

 

The Power of HTML and CSS: an Introduction to Authoring Web Pages

Are you interested in creating a web page from scratch, but don't know where to start? This introductory workshop will allow participants to create their own web page written in HTML and styled with CSS. By the end of the workshop, participants will have uploaded a hand-typed webpage to their personal web space on the Copland web server, know how to make more web pages, and know where to find free, up-to-date resources on HTML and web design. The workshop is designed for complete beginners, but more advanced topics may be demonstrated for inspiration.

This workshop is offered at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty and staff. Seating is limited, and registration is required.

Location: Student Multimedia Design Center, Room B, lower level of the Morris Library.

Presenters:   

Nico Carver, assistant librarian, Student Multimedia Design Center

Audrey Hamelers, assistant librarian, Library Information Technology User Support Department

Register Online:

Tuesday, April 22, 2014, 1:30 - 3:30 p.m.

 

 

 

Genealogy for Beginners

The Genealogy for Beginners workshop covers the basics for researchers who are just starting to work on their family histories. It presents an overview of the types of records that contain genealogical information as well as strategies for finding and recording this data. Learn how to search the online database Ancestry Library Edition for U.S. census records. Ancestry Library Edition is available from the Library Databases page [http://www2.lib.udel.edu/database/ancestry.html]. 

The workshop is available at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty, and staff. 

The workshop is also open to the general public at no charge. Online registration is not available for members of the general public or for students in the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute. To register, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call the Reference and Instructional Services Department at 302-831-2432. 

Location: Library Instruction Room (Rm. 116A), Reference Room, Morris Library. 

Presenters:

Rebecca Knight, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Linda Stein, librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

 Register Online:

Tuesday, April 29, 2014; 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

 

 

Where There's a Will, There's a Way to Find Information about Your Family

Wills and the court records associated with the legal process of proving them (probate) are important resources for genealogy and other history researchers. They can provide details about a family’s standard of living, property, household members, friends, and the legal position of women and minors in the household. Depending on the testator (will writer) and the time period, there may be information about slaves, religious affiliation, and level of formal education. This workshop will cover the basics of the probate process and provide steps for locating these records.

The workshop is available at no charge and is open to UD students, faculty, and staff. 

The workshop is also open to the general public at no charge. Online registration is not available for members of the general public or for students in the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute. To register, email lib-workshops@udel.edu or call the Reference and Instructional Services Department at 302-831-2432. 

Prerequisites: Attendance at a Genealogy for Beginners workshop is recommended.

Location: Library Instruction Room (Rm. 116A), Reference Room, Morris Library. 

Presenters:

Rebecca Knight, associate librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

Linda Stein, librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department

 Register Online:  

Thursday, May 15, 2014; 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

 

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip