Skip to main content

Delaware History: Databases & Finding Articles

RefWorks

 

RefWorks: How Can It Help You?

RefWorks is a web-based citation management system. The system can:

  • export references from databases
  • organize references
  • store articles
  • add personal notes about the references
  • share folders
  • format citations and references lists in hundreds of citation styles
  • insert properly formatted in-text citations (or footnotes) and references lists (or bibliographies or works cited lists) when using Microsoft Word or Google Docs

Reference Sources (Databases)

History: Find Articles Using History Databases

What Are Primary Sources?

Primary sources give first-hand accounts of topics or events. They are the evidence left behind by participants or observers. Primary sources include diaries, speeches, letters, manuscripts, memoirs, autobiographies, records of governments or organizations, and published materials (books, journals, newspaper articles) written at the time of an event or issue. Primary sources may include photographs, tape recordings, oral histories, and maps. In literature, an original work such as a novel, poem, short story or play is also considered to be a primary source.

Search examples:

  keywords   soldiers and diaries
      personal narratives AND civil war AND united states
      women AND world war 1939-1945 AND (sources OR letters OR diaries)
  subjects   Manuscripts, American--Facsimiles
  subjects   Manuscripts--Catalogs

Primary Source Databases

Specialized Primary Source Databases

Subject Guide

Rebecca Knight's picture
Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H
(302) 831-1730


Subjects: U.S. Government Information,
Delaware, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Pictures

Greetings from Rehoboth Beach, Del.  From University of Delaware Library Postcard Collection.

Finding Manuscripts

Rare books, manuscripts, and archival materials

Close This