Skip to main content

Education: Databases/Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases of Interest

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Searching for Print Journals

If you find older articles that are not available in full text via Get It! or in the database that you are searching, you can check to see if the library has a print copy of the journal which originally published the article you are seeking.  Note the journal's title, year, volume, and issue.  Then, head to DELCAT Discovery and search for the journal by title.  (ex:  International Journal of Educational Research).  

When you have located the record for the journal that you are seeking, click its title to see if we have the journal either in print or online for the year in which the article you are seeking was published. 

If you need help, please  Ask A Librarian

Databases for Education Research

The following databases index education-related journals:

Databases Related to Education

Many other disciplines are closely tied to the study of education.  The following databases, while not specific to education, can be helpful for education researchers:

Using Get It!

Sometimes databases will contain links to electronic copies of full articles.  These are known as "full text" articles.  Get it! is a system that helps researchers quickly connect to full text articles when searching online.

Get It! searches though the library's database and journal subscriptions to connect researchers to the full text of the desired article. When searching in a database that is Get It! -enabled, you will see a small link or button labeled Get It! beneath the article records that are returned by the database.  Clicking Get It! will either bring you directly to the article, or will provide the following options:

Clicking on GET ARTICLE will bring you to a copy of the article, while the GO TO JOURNAL option will bring you to the journal's home page.

If Get it! cannot locate a full-text copy of the article or an electronic subscription to the journal that published the article, you will see the following:

The best next step is to use the link to DELCAT Discovery to search for the journal by title or ISSN to determine if we have this journal in print in the library for the year in which your article was published.  If you have searched DELCAT Discovery and find that we don't have the journal containing your article, you can use the link to interlibrary loan to request that the article be delivered to you from another library.

Databases on the Web

The Chronicle of Higher Education

Campus-wide access to The Chronicle of Higher Education from 1989-present is now available. This includes all information from the print edition as well as other online-only features.

For a summary of The Chronicle's many features, visit the site map.

Create a free account using your udel.edu email address to gain quick access to The Chronicle from an iPad, smart phone, tablet, or any computer anywhere in the world.