This is the "Home" page of the "Education Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education Law  

Last Updated: May 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/educlaw Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books on Education Law

When searching DELCAT for books on education law, it can be helpful to search using subject key words.

The best way to find applicable subjects is to look in the subject headings listed in your results.  Below are a few examples of subject headings that pertain to education law:

  • Educational law and legislation
  • Educational law and legislation - United States
  • Educational law and legislation - United States - Cases
  • Discrimination in Education - Law and Legislation

Note that subject headings often have several additional qualifying subject headings, allowing for very specific description of what a title is about.

Related Guides

Public Policy and Administration
by Michael Gutierrez - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
485 views this year
Legal Studies
by Michael Gutierrez - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
501 views this year
Special Education
by Meg Grotti - Last Updated May 30, 2014
119 views this year
 

Recommendation for Purchase

The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.

Databases of Interest

The following databases are particularly useful when searching for education law content such as journal articles, dissertations, legal opinions, etc.  For the full list of education-related databases please visit the education guide.

  • ERIC [EBSCOhost]  Icon  Icon
    ERIC is the main database for searching for education-related content. It includes journals covering issues related to law in the schools. Additionally, its thesaurus includes subjects related to law which can be used to find articles on legal issues.

    Subjects to try include:
    - Educational Legislation
    - School Law
    - Student Rights
    - Teacher Rights
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database which provides strong coverage of the legal literature and landmark US cases. One helpful means of searching for education law related topics is to browse the sources section.
  • How to browse sources for Education Law in LexisNexis
    Information from the LexisNexis site.
  • LegalTrac  Icon  Icon
    LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon  Icon
    A database which covers scholarly and professional journal articles in sociology, criminal justice, and related disciplines. Includes articles on legal issues. Covers from 1952 to the present.
  • Federal Register
    The daily publication covering the rules and regulations of legislation as implemented by federal agencies. Covers 1994 to the present.
  • Federal Register Overview - US Department of Education
    Provides an overview of the most recent significant regulations impacting education, the most recent articles, and the most cited articles.
 

Books on Education Law

The Yearbook of Education Law 2010 - Ed. Charles J. Russo
Call Number: Reference LB2514 .Y43 2010
Contains analyses of the previous year's federal and state court decisions that affect private and public elementary and secondary schools and higher education.



Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Education Law - Charles J. Russo
Call Number: Reference KF4117 .E53 2008


Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Meg Grotti
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Senior Assistant Librarian & Coordinator, Library Instruction
Ph: (302)831-6310
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 

Ask a Librarian

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip