Skip to main content

ENGL600: Introduction to Graduate Studies in English (Special Collections)

Information on resources in Special Collections for new English graduate students

Introduction to Special Collections

Liveright to HemingwaySpecial Collections at the University of Delaware Library collects, preserves, and makes accessible rare and unique materials. Special Collections’s holdings in American, British, and Irish literature constitute one of the most important collections of its kind in the world. Although they include numerous works from earlier centuries, Special Collections’s literature holdings are especially strong from the eighteenth through the twentieth centuries. The collection encompasses a wide range of genres and formats and includes first and variant editions, manuscript and archival collections, small press collections, broadsides, visual materials, ephemera, and sound recordings.

Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

For more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.

 

Guide created by Special Collections Graduate Assistant Sarah Iuli (2015-2016)

Kinds of Materials Found in Literary Collections:

  • CorrespondenEmily Sowden travel diaryce
  • Manuscripts
  • Ephemera (playbills, ads, posters, clippings, etc.)
  • Media
  • Digital files
  • Diaries/journals
  • Photographs
  • Periodicals
  • Books
  • Legal and financial documents
  • Objects
  • Artwork
  • Business of writing (royalty statements, publisher's records, proofs, etc.)

 

[MSS097, Item 0069 Emily Sowden travel journal]


Kay Boyle: A Twentieth-Century Life in LettersProject/Research Ideas:

  • Rediscovery projects                                                              
  • Influences on a text
  • Biographies                                                                               
  • Reception studies
  • New editions of texts                                                              
  • Digital Humanities projects
  • Collections of letters                                                               
  • Transmission of a text
  • Previously unpublished materials                                
  • Literary circles

  

 

 

To Browse Manuscripts please visit the Manuscripts and Archival Collections page.

Or

To search for manuscripts enter a keyword into the Special Collections search box and select "Finding Aids" from the drop down menu.

Finding Manuscripts

Please note that not every manuscript collection has an online finding aid. For further assistance please contact us.

Loading

Resources

The Mark Samuels Lasner Collection is associated with the Special Collections Department of the University of Delaware Library, but is privately owned. The collection, housed in the Morris Library, focuses on British literature and art of the period 1850 to 1900, with an emphasis on the Pre-Raphaelites and on the writers and illustrators of the 1890s. Its holdings comprise over 9,000 first and other editions (including many signed and association copies), manuscripts, letters, works on paper, and ephemera.

Please note that materials in the Mark Samuels Lasner Collection are not listed in DELCAT.

 

 

               

                                                                


Established in 1969, University Archives and Records Management serves as the central repository for the administrative and business records of the University of Delaware. The mission of this unit is to document the history of the University of Delaware, its predecessor institutions - including the Academy of Newark, Newark College, Delaware College, and the Women's College of Delaware - its Board of Trustees, its constituent colleges, departments, and programs, and its administrative offices and units.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Loading
Close This