Skip to main content

Human Development and Family Sciences: Cited By

Guide to Cited Reference Searching

Citation Searching

In a record for a particular work, many databases include the number of times the article has been cited in other articles and provides the information about those articles.

The results may show:

  • other works you can examine to learn more about the topic

  • if the article you started with is a seminal or influential work

  • how the ideas, experiments, and innovations in an article have been upheld, corrected, or extended since that work was published

Selected resources for citation searching:

Sources for Citation Searching: PsycINFO

Starting with this article:

Nettelbeck, T., & Wilson, C. (2002). Personal vulnerability to victimization of people with mental retardation. Trauma, Violence, & Abuse, 3(4), 289-306. doi:10.1177/1524838002237331

To find the PsycINFO database, go to the Library home page and select the Databases icon. Type the name of the database in the search box. Select the database from the search results.

Search for the article by title, author, or name of journal.

article search result

The article description displays the number of times the article has been cited by other articles in PsycINFO. Select Cited by to retrieve the list of articles that cite this one.

Sources for Citation Searching: Web of Science

Starting with this article:

Leekam, S. R., López, B., & Moore, C. (2000). Attention and joint attention in preschool children with autism. Developmental Psychology, 36(2), 261-273. doi:10.1037/0012-1649.36.2.261

To find the Web of Science database, go to the Library home page and select the Databases icon. Type the name of the database in the search box. Select the database from the search results.

Seach for the article title, author, or name of journal or a combination of those fields. Hint: use quotes aroung multiple words.

The article description displays the number of times the article has been cited by other articles in  Web of Science. Select the number of times cited to retrieve the list of articles that cite this one.

 

The cited reference search

Web of Science offers a much more complex way of searching – the cited reference search. A cited reference search will help find the variant article citations.

When citing an article in a reference list, authors may use different information or may have a piece of the information wrong. To learn more about this technique, see the Web of Science Help.

Sources for Citation Searching: Google scholar

Google scholar performs searches across a broad variety of scholarly literature. The coverage includes articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and patents. The search results may provide the complete article or take you to a library or other source.

The complete article will only be available if it is freely accessible on the web or if the UD Library subscribes to the journal electronically.

 

Finding Citations

 

Starting with this article:

Cary, W. L. (1974). Federalism and corporate law: Reflections upon Delaware. The Yale Law Journal, 83(4), pp. 663-705. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/795524

Click the "cited by" link to see the list of articles, books, court cases, etc. that have referenced the original article.

 

Finding the complete article

Clicking the title will take you on one source where the article is available. A list to the right will take you to other sources.

In the example above, the title link will take you to the article from a publishing company called HeinOnline. You can view the first page of the article, but would need to pay to access the complete article.

There is also a link to the right. Clicking on the link "PDF frpm jstor" will retrieve the article from the UD Library subscription database JSTOR. Underneath that link, is "Get It!" which is the name of the Library article retrieval service.

If you do not get the complete article on your first try, click all of the links.

Subject Guide

Rebecca Knight's picture
Rebecca Knight
Contact:
Associate librarian
Reference and Instructional Services Department
Morris Library, Room 117H

Subjects: U.S. Government Information,
Delaware, census, family studies, RefWorks, APA style, and genealogy.


Education:
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.

Close This